Manchester Metropolitan University homepage
Library homepage

Staying safe

Important changes to support your learning. Find out more

EndNote

Information about software that can help you organise your references.

About EndNote

What is it?

Software to help organise your references.

How can it help?

EndNote works seamlessly with Word to create in-text citations and a bibliography. You can choose from a range of referencing styles, including MMU Harvard.

Which version should I use?

EndNote Online

EndNote Desktop

EndNote iPad

Register for Endnote Online

Register for an EndNote Online account:

To register

To get access to the enhanced Endnote account, which includes features such as the MMU Harvard referencing style you first need to register via Web of Science.

  • Go directly to Web of Science
  • Click Sign In (at the top of screen)
  • Choose Register
  • Then retype your email address and click Continue.
  • A verification code will be sent to your email address.  Login into your email and type in the code you have been sent
  • Enter your details and choose a password. Your password must be eight characters long, include an uppercase letter, a lower case letter as well as a number and a symbol e.g. ! Click to Confirm.  A confirmation message will appear.
  • Now click on Endnote (at the top of screen), which will take you directly to your new Endnote account.

Once you have created an account you can access it directly by going to www.myendnoteweb.com

 

Endnote Online Handout

Endnote Online Instructions

This guide will take you through the various aspects of using Endnote Online. A series of short videos are also available about this software.

This guide includes the following sections:

Setting up an Endnote Online Account    
Registering for an account    
The Reference Library    

  • Manually adding references    
  • Tips for entering authors    

Organising your Library    

  • Editing references    
  • Deleting references    
  • Reordering the library    
  • Removing duplicate references    
  • Adding attachments to references    
  • Grouping your references    
  • Sharing your groups    

Getting References from Databases    
Direct Export using Library Search    
Capturing Bibliographic Information from a Website   
Using Endnote and Word   

  • Installing the toolbar    
  • Linking the document to your Endnote library    
  • Inserting a citation    
  • Changing the referencing style in Word    
  • Deleting citations in Word    
  • Excluding parts of citation    
  • Including page numbers in a reference    
  • Editing citations/bibliography    

Standalone bibliographies    
Submitting documents electronically    


Setting up an Endnote Online Account

Endnote online is a web based software package that allows you to manage bibliographic references and create bibliographies easily and automatically.
Endnote is available at http://www.myendnoteweb.com

 

Registering for an account

To get access to the enhanced Endnote account, which includes features such as the MMU Harvard referencing style you first need to register via Web of Science.
⦁    Go to Web of Science (from Library homepage http://www.library.mmu.ac.uk, choose Search Tools, Databases A-Z, W, then Web of Science.
⦁    Click Sign In 
⦁    Choose Register
⦁    Then retype your email address and click Continue.
⦁    A verification code will be sent to your email address.  Login into your email and type in the code you have been sent
⦁    Enter your details and choose a password. Your password must be eight characters long, include an uppercase letter, a lower case letter as well as a number and a symbol e.g. ! Click to Confirm.  A confirmation message will appear.
⦁    Now click on Endnote (top of screen), which will take you directly to your new Endnote account.

Once you have created an account you can access it directly by going to http://www.myendnoteweb.com 

 

The Reference Library

The file that holds your references is called a library.  It can include lots of different reference types i.e. books, journal articles, conference proceedings, etc.  


Manually adding references

To add a new reference select the Collect tab and click on New Reference then choose the type of reference you require from the drop down menu.

The fields will change to reflect the reference type, simply click in each relevant field and type the details of the reference.

Tips for entering authors
When entering the names of authors or editors always use the following order, Last Name, First Name i.e. Smith, John.  If the reference includes multiple authors/editors, each must be entered on a separate line.

If the reference includes the name of the organisation you will need to insert a comma after the name so that it will appear correctly in your reference list i.e. Manchester Metropolitan University, 

When you have entered all the fields you want to use click on Save to add the reference to your library.

Organising your Library

Editing references

Each reference can be edited, if you need to add or subtract information.  From the list of references, simply click on the title and click on the field that you need to edit. Once you have made the changes, click Save to update the record.

Deleting references

To delete any unnecessary records, click the tick box next to reference and click Delete.  The reference will be moved to Trash.  Records can be retrieved from Trash, so long as it hasn’t been emptied.  To delete the reference/s from Trash select Empty.

Reordering the library

The library can be organised in a number of different ways.  The default is to order by the name of the first author.  However, by clicking on Sort by and selecting from the drop down menu on the right hand side of the screen you can change the order using the options given.  This can be useful if you want to find items recently added to your library.

Removing duplicate references

If you are downloading many records from different sources, you may find that you end up with duplicate references in your library.  Endnote has a handy tool to find these for you.  Click on Organize and choose Find Duplicates.  The duplicates are highlighted and can be reviewed and then deleted, by clicking on Delete.

Adding attachments to references

Endnote allows you to attach files such as PDF files to individual records.  To attach, first click on the Paper clip icon for the individual record, click Attach files, now click on Browse and locate the file.  Once you have found the file click Upload.
Once an attachment has been added, the paper clip will change colour to blue.
To remove an attachment, simply click on the paper clip, then hover over the name of the file and click the blue cross to remove.
If you wanted to see the total number of attachments in your library, choose Organize and click Manage Attachments.  All the attachments will be listed as well as how much space has been used.


Grouping your references

Records are automatically added to All My References Folder – but you can also sort them into individual folders (up to 5000 personal folders).  To create a new group, select the Organize tab, click on Manage My Groups and then click New Group and give the group a relevant name i.e. Research Methods, Chapter 1, etc.  Return to My References and tick the records you want to add to your group and then select the group from Add to Group drop down menu. References can be added to multiple groups as required.

Sharing your groups

Endnote also allows you to share your groups of references with other researchers who are using Endnote.  You can choose to give your colleagues read only or editing rights.  Click on the Organize tab, Manage My Groups, Manage Sharing and then click on Start Sharing this group.  A new screen will appear, simply enter the email address for your colleague and choose the level of access allowed.  They will now be able to see your references in their Endnote library.


Getting References from Databases

As well as using Endnote to connect to different catalogues, it is possible to search many of the library’s resources and then add records into your own Endnote library.  On the library website you can find an A-Z listing http://libguides.mmu.ac.uk/az.php of our resources, click on the question mark next to an individual resource to access the help guide and click the Endnote tab to see specific instructions. The majority use a system called Direct Export.

 

Direct Export using Library Search

To use direct export, you need to leave your Endnote library running and open a new tab in your browser.  Access Library Search from the library website (http://www.library.mmu.ac.uk) and run your search.  When you retrieve results, you will need to select the ones you want to transfer into Endnote Online.  
To do this click on the folder icon on the right hand side of each record. 
Once selected, the icon changes colour and items will be added to the folder located next to the search box. 
NB The selected records will disappear after 20 minutes.  You can export up to 50 items at a time. 

When you are ready to transfer your results to Endnote, click on the Folder icon at the top of the screen.
A new screen will appear, listing the records to be transferred.  To transfer records click on the arrow next to Export To and choose Endnote.
Depending on which browser you are using, a dialog box will open – in Internet Explorer click Open; in Firefox select OK; in Chrome click on the button labelled export-endnote which will appear in the left hand corner of the screen.
Next, a box called Choose Destination will appear, highlight Endnote Online, and click OK.
You may be asked to enter the details of your Endnote Online account, simply type these in and click OK.  A final message will appear confirming your records have been added to Endnote. Click OK.

 

Capturing Bibliographic Information from a Website

You can also save bibliographic information from web pages into Endnote.  This is called Capture.
NB This function does not work in Internet Explorer.  You need to use Firefox/Google Chrome to use this function.

To do this you need to install the tool on your browser.  In Endnote, choose Downloads   You need to drag the grey Capture Reference icon onto the bookmarks toolbar.  (NB If the bookmark toolbar is not already on screen, right click next to help and choose Bookmarks toolbar).  

Open a new tab and go to the site you would like to add to your Endnote library.  Click on the Capture Reference button.  A new screen will appear.  You may need to enter the details of your Endnote Online account the first time you use the tool.  First check that the reference is correct i.e. reference type is set to web page, any other details such as author are added as well as the access date.  
When you are happy with the reference details click, Save to myendnote.com.  A confirmation window will appear, and the reference will be added to your library.  Click Close and you can return to the web page you were using.

Using Endnote and Word

Installing the toolbar

Endnote also allows you to work in Word and create in text citations which will automatically be added to a bibliography at the end of your document.  This is called Cite While You Write.  First you will need to install the Endnote toolbar into Word.  Click on Downloads, choose the option for your computer and follow the on screen instructions. (NB On campus the Endnote toolbar is already available in Word on the student PCs, on staff PCs you will need to ask IT to install Endnote). Once installed you will see an Endnote toolbar in Word.

Linking the document to your Endnote library

To Cite While You Write you will need to link the document to your Endnote library.  Click on Preferences, then Application and enter the email address and the password for your Endnote online account, then click OK.

Inserting a citation

Once connected to Endnote, you can start writing your text.  When you need to insert a citation, simply place the cursor, where you want the citation to appear.  Next click on Insert Citations on the Endnote toolbar.  Then search for the relevant citation, click to highlight and select Insert.

The citation will appear in the text and a bibliography will be created at the end of your document.  You can continue to add citations and create your bibliography as required.

Changing the referencing style in Word

To choose how your citations and bibliography appear, you simply need to choose the relevant output style next to style on Cite While You Write menu.  Only a limited number of styles are listed on the drop down menu, if you click on Select Another Style, you can choose from the full list available.  A new box will open, scroll down to the style you require, highlight and click OK.  Your citations and bibliography will be reformatted in that specific style i.e. Harvard MMU or MMU Harvard.

Deleting citations in Word

If you want to delete or change a citation you will need to click on Edit Citations on the Endnote toolbar. 
To delete a citation click Edit Citation on the Endnote toolbar, highlight the citation you want to delete, click Edit Reference and then choose Remove Citation.

Excluding parts of citation

In some cases you may need to use an author’s name as part of the text, you can still insert your citation and then use Endnote to exclude the author’s surname.  Select Edit Citation on the Endnote toolbar, highlight the citation you want to edit and then click in the box next to Exclude Author.  Only the year will now appear in the text and the reference will remain in your bibliography.  You can now use the name of the author as part of the text.

Including page numbers in a reference

If you need to include a page number as part of your reference, click on Edit Citations on the Endnote toolbar.  Click to highlight the reference you want to edit and then type the page number in the field marked Suffix i.e. :15. 

Editing citations/bibliography

If something is appearing incorrectly in a reference in Word, it is probably due to an error in the data in your Endnote library.  To amend this in Word, click Edit Citation, choose the Reference and click on Edit Reference.  This will take you back to Endnote, where you can locate the reference and amend the data.  Once you have made any corrections, return to Word, choose Edit Citation, click on the drop down menu next to Edit Reference and click Update from My Library.  The reference screen will appear, click Insert and the updated reference will now appear in your document.

Standalone bibliographies

Occasionally you might want to create a standalone bibliography from your library, without citing the references in a piece of work.  In Endnote, choose the Format tab, click on Bibliography.  You can choose All References in My Library or a particular group.  Next select the correct output style, and then select RTF(rich text file).  Click to Save the document, choose your location and your references can now be accessed as a list in Word. 


Submitting documents electronically

If you are intending to submit a document electronically, you might find it necessary to remove the links between your Endnote Library and your Word document.  On the Endnote toolbar in Word, simply select Convert Citations and Bibliography, choose to Convert to Plain Text.  

A message will appear telling you that a new version of your document will be created, click OK.  This will create a new version of your document, which can be saved as normal.  This document is no longer linked to Endnote and can then be submitted electronically.  If you need to subsequently edit the document, you will need to return to your original, make the necessary changes and repeat the process above. 
 

Importing references into Endnote Online

Importing References into Endnote Online

Sometimes it is not possible to export references into Endnote.  Some web browsers such as Safari and Microsoft Edge do not currently support direct export.  However, information from resources such as Library Search can be transferred into Endnote Online.

From Library Search/Database, etc.

  • Export the records, then select Save. 
  • Ensure that you save it to a place where you can easily retrieve it later and the file name ends .ris.

Return to EndNote Online
•    Login to your EndNote Online account
•    Select the Collect tab and click on Import References.

 Endnote Online with My References and Import References highlighted.

 

 

•    Next to File, click on Choose File and locate the references, which you have saved.
•    Use the drop-down menu in the Import Option field to find and select the RefMan RIS import filter. 
•    Either choose to add the references to a particular group or to the Unfiled area in your library.  Then click Import.
Import References screen, an export-endnote.ris is shown next to file, RefMan RIS is shown next to import option and a group has been selected next to option for To.

•    A message in red will appear confirming your results have been added to your library and can now be used for referencing.

Confirmation message that references have been imported into Endnote.

EndNote Online Workshop

We deliver Endnote Online training as an online workshop using Adobe Connect. You can look at our workshop page to check when our next session is running.

You can also watch a recording of our latest Endnote Online workshop. We have also included a recording for Mac users.

You will need to download Adobe Connect in order to watch this recording. Download the handout below for instructions on how to do this. You will need to watch the recorded version of the workshop on a laptop/desktop computer using Flash. Mobile iOS devices, such as iPads, are not currently supported.

Adobe connect instructions

Adobe Connect Information for Webinars


Task 1


1. Go to http://mmu.adobeconnect.com/testroom/
2. Login as a guest. Simply type your first name into the Name box and click on the “Enter Room”
button.
3. Follow the instructions that you will find on the main screen to run the audio set-up wizard. This
will allow you to check that you can hear audio from other participants and that they can hear your
own audio.
4. If you encounter any problems, please contact us for help within 24 hours of the course start date.


Task 2


Run the Adobe Connect Diagnostic Test by clicking on the following link:
https://na1cps.adobeconnect.com/common/help/en/support/meeting_test.htm

 

  • The test should take less than 1 minute to run
  • If everything is OK, you should receive 4 ticks on the screen
  • If there are any issues with your set up, you will be prompted/instructed to take appropriate action to rectify the problem
  • You should then run the test again
  • If you continue to have problems, please email us for help

Please do not hesitate to get in touch if you are having any problems. It is important that we sort out any issues as soon as possible so that you can participate fully using Adobe Connect: Library@mmu.ac.uk
Subject line: Webinar access issues

Want to know more about Endnote Desktop?

Endnote Desktop is now available to be used off campus. Staff and Students can download a copy from IT's Software Download Centre.  Here you will find the software and relevant product key.

Please note the MMU Harvard referencing style is not included with the initial download but can be supplied by contacting library@mmu.ac.uk.

Endnote Desktop Handout

Endnote Desktop Instructions

This guide will take you through the various aspects of using Endnote Desktop.

Contents

Downloading Endnote Desktop    
Creating a Library    
The Reference Library    

  • Manually adding references    
  • Tips for entering authors    
  • Preview your references    
  • Editing references    
  • Adding attachments to references    
  • Deleting references    
  • Removing duplicate references    
  • Reordering the library    
  • Rating Your References    
  • Grouping your references    
  • Searching your Endnote Library    
  • Syncing with Endnote Online    

Getting References from Databases    
Direct Export using Library Search    
Using Endnote and Word    

  • Endnote toolbar    
  • Inserting a citation    
  • Setting the referencing style    
  • Deleting citations    
  • Excluding parts of citation    
  • Including page numbers in a reference    
  • Editing citations/bibliography    
  • Submitting documents electronically    

Downloading Endnote Desktop

Endnote Desktop is now available to use off campus.  You will first need to download the software to your PC or Mac.  Please see the online Endnote guide for links to download the software - https://libguides.mmu.ac.uk/endnote
You will need a product key to use the software on a non MMU device.  This can be obtained from ISDS - https://www2.mmu.ac.uk/isds/contact/
The MMU Harvard referencing style is not included with the initial download of the software, but can be supplied by the library, simply email library@mmu.ac.uk to obtain this style.  Once you have the style file, it needs to be saved in the styles folder within the Endnote software.  Locate the Program files on your hard drive and add the file to the folder called styles.
 

Creating a Library

To start using Endnote Desktop you first need to create a file called a Library to store your references.  It can include lots of different reference types i.e. books, journal articles, conference proceedings, etc.

Open the Endnote software.  Then choose File and New.

A default file called My Endnote Library will be created.  You can change the name of your library if you prefer.  Then click Save.

Endnote libraries are made up of two parts .enl file and a Data folder.  Ensure both parts are kept in the same location, as both are needed for Endnote to function correctly. 

Please note your Endnote library needs to be saved to a location such as a hard drive.  Endnote libraries should never be stored in cloud syncing folders such as Drop Box, One Drive, iCloud, etc as syncing folder corrupts over time. 
The Reference Library

The file that holds your references is called a library.  It can include lots of different reference types i.e. books, journal articles, conference proceedings, etc.

References are displayed in a list within the central panel and can be previewed on the right hand side of the screen.

 

Manually adding references

To manually add a new reference, select References and then choose New Reference.
A new window will appear.  First select the type of reference you require from the drop-down menu.  Reference types are listed alphabetically, scroll up or down to locate the one you need.

The fields will change to reflect the reference type, simply click in each relevant field and enter the details of the reference.
Tips for entering authors
When entering the names of authors or editors always use the following order, Last Name, First Name i.e. Peters, David.  If the reference includes multiple authors/editors, each must be entered on a separate line
If the reference includes the name of the organisation as the author you will need to insert a comma after the name so that it will appear correctly in your reference list i.e. Manchester Metropolitan University, 
When you have entered all the relevant details, click on the red cross on the reference window.  This will add the reference to your library.
 

Preview your references

To see how your reference might appear in your chosen referencing style, it can be previewed in Endnote.  Simply click to highlight the reference you want to check.  On the right hand side of the screen choose Preview.  You also need to select your referencing style by choosing the name i.e. MMU Harvard from the drop-down menu located above the list of references.


Editing references

Each reference can be edited, if you need to add or subtract information.  Within Endnote Desktop you can do this in two different ways.  
From the list of references in the central panel, double click on the reference you want to edit.  The reference window will open, and you can amend information as you require.  Click on the red cross on the reference window to close the reference and your changes will be saved.
Alternatively, you can edit reference information from the main screen. Click to highlight the reference you want to edit and select reference on the right hand side of the screen.  
 
You can now amend any information within the reference.  If you want to change the display you can also remove any fields, you are not using.  To do this, select options and remove the tick next to show empty fields.
 

Adding attachments to references

Endnote Desktop allows you to attach files such as PDFs to individual records.

Click to highlight the reference you want to attach a file to.  On the right hand side of the screen click the paper clip icon.

Locate the file and click open and the PDF will appear in the window.

An added feature of Endnote Desktop allows you to either highlight text within the PDF or add sticky notes to relevant pages of the PDF.  These tools can be accessed when viewing the PDF document.
Once a record has an attachment a paperclip symbol will appear next to the reference in the main reference display.

 

Deleting references

To delete any unnecessary records, click to highlight the record/s you want to remove and then drag and drop into the Trash folder.  Records can be retrieved from the Trash, so long as it hasn’t been emptied.  To delete references from the Trash, click on the Trash icon and right click and select Empty or you can choose References from the top menu and then scroll down to the option to Empty the Trash.

 

Removing duplicate references

If you are downloading many records from different sources, you may find that you end up with duplicate references in your library.  Endnote has a handy tool to locate these for you.

Click on References then scroll down and select Find Duplicates


A new Find Duplicates window will be shown.  Each duplicate will appear in turn and you can then select which reference you want to keep by clicking on the Keep this Record button.  The other example will automatically be removed from the library and added to the trash folder.  If you want to keep both examples, choose Skip and you will move onto the next duplicate example.


Reordering the library

Your Endnote library can be organised in a number of different ways.  The default is to order by the name of the first author.  However, by clicking on one of the fields above the references, Endnote will re-sort records by Year, Title, etc.
 
To customise the display further choose Edit and then Preferences.  Then choose Display Fonts and you can select any elements you want to add or remove.  Then click OK and any change will now be displayed on screen.  To return to the default display, go back to this screen and select Endnote Defaults and click OK and this will restore the original settings.
 


Rating Your References

If it is helpful you can give your references a rating based on their usefulness.  Place your cursor over the rating field and you can select an appropriate number of stars per reference.
 

Grouping your references

Records are automatically added to an All References group – but you can also create your own folders to organise your references further.

To create a new group, select Groups and then Create Group. 

The new group will appear under My Groups.  You will need to give the group a name i.e. Research Methods, Chapter 1, etc.  

To add references to a group you can click to highlight reference/s and then drag and drop to the relevant group or highlight a reference/s and right click and then select Add Reference To and select the relevant group.

 
Endnote Desktop also includes a feature called Smart Groups.  These are dynamic groups of references which update automatically using selected criteria.  
To create a Smart Group, select Groups and then Smart Groups.  A search box will appear.  You can choose a name for your new Smart Group. 
 
You can now set certain criteria for your group such as particular keywords, authors, ratings, reference types, etc.  When you have set your criteria click Create.  Your group will now appear in the left hand menu.  Every time references are added which fit your criteria they will automatically be sorted into your smart group. 
Please note that references can appear in multiple groups.

 

Searching your Endnote Library

If you want to locate a specific reference in your Endnote library, then use the built-in search box.  Simply type relevant search terms into the box and click Search.  Click All My References to return to the full display. 
 

Syncing with Endnote Online

If you have an Endnote Online account references can easily be transferred from Endnote Online into Endnote Desktop or sent from Endnote Desktop into Endnote Online.  To use the sync function, you need to select sync icon within Endnote and follow the on screen instructions to link accounts.  This function is also available by selecting Tools and then Sync.
 

Getting References from Databases

It is possible to search many of the library’s resources and then add records into Endnote.  On the library website you can find a full A-Z listing (http://libguides.mmu.ac.uk/az.php) of our resources, click the Endnote symbol to see specific instructions. The majority use a system called Direct Export.

Direct Export using Library Search

To use direct export, you need to leave your Endnote library running and open a web browser.  Access Library Search from the library website and run your search.  You will need to select the results you want to transfer into Endnote.  
To do this click on the folder icon on the right hand side of each record.  

Once selected, the icon changes colour and items will be added to the folder located next to the search box. 
 
NB The selected records will disappear after 20 minutes.  You can export up to 50 items at a time. 

When you are ready to transfer your results to Endnote, click on the Folder icon at the top of the screen.
A new screen will appear, listing the records to be transferred.  To transfer records click on the arrow next to Export To and choose Endnote.
 

Depending on which browser you are using, a dialog box will open– in Internet Explorer click Open; in Firefox select OK; in Chrome click on the button labelled export-endnote… which will appear in the left hand corner of the screen.
Next, a box called Choose Destination will appear, highlight Endnote, and click OK.  
Endnote will open and only your imported references will appear in the window.  Click All References to see your full library.
  

Using Endnote and Word

Endnote toolbar

When you install Endnote Desktop onto your PC or Mac then the Cite While You Write toolbar is automatically added to Word, which allows you to add citations to your document.
 
To ensure that it is working with Desktop, make sure that Endnote X9 is listed on the top of the tab.  If it is not click on Preferences, then Application and select Desktop, then click OK.


Inserting a citation

Once connected to Endnote, you can start writing your text.  When you need to insert a citation, simply place the cursor, where you want the citation to appear.  Next click on Insert Citation on the Endnote toolbar.

A search box will appear, and you can type in a word/name from your reference and click Find to locate the source you require.  When you have found the right reference click to highlight and then choose Insert.

The citation will appear in the text and a bibliography will be created at the end of your document.  You can continue to add citations and create your bibliography as required.


Setting the referencing style 

To choose how your citations and bibliography appear, you simply need to pick the relevant referencing style.

Please note that the MMU Harvard referencing style is not included with the initial download of Endnote Desktop, but can be supplied by the library, simply email library@mmu.ac.uk.  Instructions for adding this to the software are available on page 2 of this guide.
Next to Style on the Endnote toolbar select the drop-down menu.  Only a limited number of styles are listed, if you choose Select Another Style, you can access the full list.
A new box will open, scroll down to the style you require, highlight and click OK.  Your citations and bibliography will be reformatted in that specific style i.e. MMU Harvard or Harvard MMU.


Deleting citations

If you want to delete or change a citation you need to do this using the commands on the Endnote toolbar.

To delete a citation, place your cursor in the citation you want to remove.  Choose Edit & Manage Citations from the Endnote toolbar.  Then click the drop down arrow next to Edit References and choose Remove citation, then click OK.
This will remove the citation from the text and the matching entry from the bibliography.  
Please note if you have used this source multiple times in your text, you are only removing this citation and it will remain in your bibliography until all examples of the source are removed from the document.

Excluding parts of citation

In some cases, you may want to use an author’s name as part of the text rather than included within the citation bracket.  You need to use Endnote to make this change. 
First place your cursor in the citation you want to edit and then Select Edit & Manage Citation on the Endnote toolbar.  Then select the drop-down arrow next to Default and choose Exclude Author.  Only the year will now appear in the citation.  You can now add the name of the author as part of the text.


Including page numbers in a reference

If you need to include a page number as part of your reference as you are giving an exact quote, you can add this to your citation using Endnote.  First place your cursor in the citation you want to edit and then Select Edit & Manage Citations on the Endnote toolbar.  
Check the correct citation is highlighted and then type the page number in the field marked Suffix i.e. :15. Then click OK.  Please note you need to type the : before adding the page number, so that it is included in the citation i.e. (Wilson, 2013:15)


Editing citations/bibliography

If something is appearing incorrectly in a reference in Word, it is probably due to an error in the data in your Endnote library.

To amend this in Word, first return to Endnote and make any necessary updates.  Then in Word, place the cursor in the citation you want to update, choose Edit & Manage Citations.  Click on the drop down arrow next to Edit Reference and select Update from My Library.  The reference screen will appear, click Insert and then OK and the corrected reference will now appear in your document.
 

Submitting documents electronically

If you are intending to submit a document electronically, you might find it necessary to remove the links between your Endnote Library and your Word document.  On the Endnote toolbar in Word, select Convert Citations and Bibliography, choose Convert to Plain Text.

A message will appear telling you that a new version of your document will be created, click OK.  You can now save this version of the document.  In the new version, all links to Endnote have been removed and this version can be submitted electronically.  If you need to subsequently edit the document, you will need to return to your original, make the necessary changes and repeat the process above. 
 

EndNote and Mac

Direct export from subject databases to EndNote does not work well with the Safari web browser. However, you can still transfer references from databases using an import filter or an alternative browser.

Library Search and EndNoteWeb using Safari as your web browser

The CWYW toolbar isn't appearing on Word 2016 on a Mac

Support from the EndNote software provider 

We have recorded a webinar for Mac users - see the webinars box above to watch this recording.