Manchester Metropolitan University homepage
Library homepage

NHS Core Content (Athens)

Only available to qualifying students on NHS funded courses and the staff who teach them. What it is and how to get access.

Access NHS Core Content (Athens)

About NHS Athens core content

The NHS core content is a good source of quality information that can be used for academic study and current awareness. There are some overlaps between the NHS and the Manchester Metropolitan University resources but there are also features unique to each, so it is worthwhile using both resource collections when searching for literature.

The online resources that qualifying students can access include:

BMJ Online Journals Collection
Comprises more than 20 leading medical titles on specialist clinical areas, public health and evidence-based medicine
EBSCOhost databases
Including Health Business Elite, MEDLINE (PubMed) and CINAHL with full text
Map of Medicine
Evidence-based, practice-informed care maps which connect the knowledge and services around a clinical condition (personal registration required)
NHS Evidence Book Collection
Provided by MyiLibrary - more than 400 eBook titles available to view online or download
NHS Evidence Journals and Databases
These include: BNI (British Nursing Index), EMBASE, and HMIC (Health Management Information Consortium) 

The NHS core content collection is only available to qualifying students on NHS funded courses and the staff who teach them. Qualifying students include those on the following programmes:

  • BSc (Hons) Contemporary Health Practice
  • BSc (Hons) Community Health
  • BSc (Hons) Adult Nursing
  • BSc (Hons) Physiotherapy
  • BSc (Hons) Psychology and Speech Pathology
  • BSc (Hons) Specialist Community Public Health Nursing
  • BSc (Hons) Speech and Language Therapy
  • MSc Physiotherapy (pre reg)
  • Return to Practice
  • Nursing Associates
  • FDSc Healthcare Science (part of Science & Engineering Faculty)

 Email library@mmu.ac.uk to register for an account through Manchester Metropolitan.

Please check your email account for the activation link to the Athens site. Once the account has been activated, you can set your own Athens password and log-in.

Note: If you do not click on the link to activate your Athens account it will expire. If you have problems with access, please email library@mmu.ac.uk to re-activate your account.

Please note:

  • Other Manchester Metropolitan students who are employees of the NHS and who don't meet the above criteria should be able to obtain an NHS Athens login from their local NHS trust library.
  • The Athens login can only be used to access the NHS core content and should not be confused with the e-resources provided by Manchester Metropolitan Library for which you need an Manchester Metropolitan University login - the two sets of IDs and passwords are not interchangeable.

Video: NHS Core Content (Athens)

  • This video will demonstrate how to access the NHS Core Content collection (also known as Open Athens).
  • Athens is a collection of journals, eBooks and databases available to eligible students and members of staff associated with an NHS-funded course.
  • If you are eligible and require a username and password, please email library@mmu.ac.uk.
  • When the MyAthens page loads you'll arrive on the login page. This is where you enter your Athens username and password
  • Remember, this is a different login to your normal MMU login.
  • Once you have entered your Username and Password select the Login button.
  • Once you have logged in click the Resources tab to see the full list of resources available to you, including databases and journal repositories.
  • For an A-Z list of the journals available to access through NHS Core Content, click the My Journals link on the MyAthens resources page.
  • In the MyJournals section you can browse the list or search for a specific journal using the search box provided. If you return to the Resources tab it is possible to look at journal articles on a particular topic.
  • To get started with the databases, click on the link labelled NICE Evidence healthcare databases.
  • Here you can cross-search a range of databases, including AMED, CINAHL and Medline.
  • You can choose which databases you want to search by ticking the related box.
  • There is also a Select/Unselect all button if you want to search all of them at once.
  • Then select the search button to go to the next page to create your search.
  • You can now enter your key terms in the box to search the journals you have selected on the previous page. Click the button to run the search.
  • Click on the number of results to see them in detail. You can narrow down your search by clicking Apply Limits. You can also combine several searches by using the tick boxes to the left to select what you want to combine - click Combine Selected to run this search.
  • If you would like to learn how to narrow your search results to find relevant resources faster, you can visit the library address on the screen to learn how.
  • For more help and information, please ask a member of staff in the Library or visit the Library web site.
Loading ...