Manchester Metropolitan University homepage
Library homepage

Covid–19 Library update

Important changes to our services. Find out more

Support while you're learning online

Get help, gain study skills and browse thousands of resources

The new Library Search system is live

The Library’s new search system is here, find out what you need to do.

This term, your Library launched the much anticipated, new and improved Library Search system - so that you can find the books, journals and articles you need quicker and easier.

The new system provides a more streamlined, efficient service and a more intuitive user interface.  

With the new Library Search you can:

  • Use the same search box to find print books, electronic articles and journals
  • Browse a virtual library shelf to see what other books are shelved next to the item you have searched for     
  • Save time by saving your favourite searches, create search lists and add personal notes to saved items  
  • Log-on with your University email and password – no need to remember separate log-in details

To help make your transition from the old system to the new system is as smooth as possible, there are a few things you may need to do:

Update saved items

If you have bookmarked resources, or saved items from the catalogue, access to these resources may break. All the resources you saved are still available via the new Library Search, just search for the item previously bookmarked and save it using the new system’s save feature before 31 January.

Your librarian is here to support you

It can take some time to get used to a new interface and way of searching, so your subject librarian is on hand to support you and show you how to use the new Library Search most effectively. You can find out more and watch a short video on the Library Search pages on the website. Additionally, you can also arrange an online 1-2-1 session with your subject librarian.

Using Library search to locate academic sources

Use Library Search to access books, ebooks, journal articles and more. Just type your keywords into the search box on the homepage of the library website and click search.

In this example, I’m looking for information on plagiarism in Higher Education.

You can see underneath each result what source it is for example a book or a journal article.

When you are using Library Search, from the results page, always ensure that you tick  full-text online underneath the refine your search heading if you are searching for ebooks or journal articles. This means that you will be able to access the full text for all of the sources listed in your results.

you may also want to limit your results to specific source types, for example books and ebooks, journal articles or scholarly and peer reviewed journal articles.

Scroll down the page for more filters – you may want to specify the publication date range for your results. You can set a date range by entering the required dates in the boxes provided or, you can choose to only see results that have been published in the last 12 months or the last 3 years or the last 5 years. In this example search I have ticked full text online and also limited my results to books and ebooks. I’m interested in the second result. To find out more about the ebook, click on more information. To access it, click on the full text online link. You will then be redirected to the ebook which you will usually be able to read online or, download onto your device for 24 hours.

If you want to search for print books in the library rather than ebooks, do not tick full text online just book/ebook underneath the content type heading. Click on the check availability link to see if the book is available in the library.

 In this example search, I have ticked full text online but this time I have limited my results to journal articles. I am interested in the first result. Again, to find out more about the article click on more information. To access it, click on the full text online link.

To access some journal articles, you will first be redirected to this page, click on full text online to access the article. You will then usually have the option to view the article on screen or, download the PDF of the article.

I want to add an additional keyword to my search to make it more specific. For more search options, click on the Advanced link to access the advanced search page.

From the advanced search page, enter your search terms in separate boxes – click on the plus symbol to add an additional search box. In this example, I have added the word attitudes to make my search more specific. Then click on search. For more help with searching effectively, see the link at the top of the page.

Once you are happy with your results you have several options here including emailing yourself the details of a particular source or exporting them to Endnote.

If you want to come back to a useful item later, you can save it to a temporary folder, just click on the folder icon. The icon will change colour when an item has been added. To view the items in your folder, click on the folder icon at the top of the page.

You can then print out or email yourself the details. Please be aware that items will disappear from this folder when you close your internet browser or, after a period of inactivity.

If you’re having trouble finding or accessing what you’re looking for, please use our online chat service or, click on the three lines here and click on  the feedback link

For more help and information, please email library@mmu.ac.uk or visit the Library website.