Manchester Metropolitan University homepage
Library homepage

Coronavirus updates

Extra content available

In light of COVID-19, publishers are increasing access to the resources below. This list will be updated as we receive further information. 

Please note that access is not guaranteed to extra resources. It maybe withdrawn at any time and will be rescinded by publishers when the current crisis is over.

Publishers with freely available content

Adam Matthew Digital

The following databases are available until 30th June 2020.

Access Eighteenth Century Drama

Access Eighteenth Century Journals

Access Foreign Office Files for China, 1919-1980

Access Foreign Office Files for India, Pakistan and Afghanistan, 1947-1980

Access Foreign Office Files for Japan, 1919-1952

Access Foreign Office Files for the Middle East, 1971-1981

Access Foreign Office Files for Southeast Asia, 1963-1980

Access Service Newspapers of World War Two

Annual Reviews

All content currently accessible. Covers social sciences, law and science subjects.

Access Annual Reviews

About Annual Reviews

Archive.org

A National Emergency Library with 1.4 million digitised books, focusing on 20th century publications. Available until 30th June 2020.

Access the National Emergency Library

About the National Emergency Library

About Archive.org

Association for Physical Education

Resources and advice for teachers and parents.

Access Coronavirus Guidance & Support

Association for Science Education

Promoting excellence in science (primary and secondary) education. Journal content published after January 2019 has been made Open Access for a limited time (sign up required).

Access the Coronavirus support hub

Access ASE Open Access Resources

Publishers announcement

Information about the resource

Bloomsbury

Temporary access until 31st May 2020.

Access Applied Visual Arts

Access Architecture Library

Access Law

Access Cultural History

Access Drama Online

Information about Drama Online

Access Design Library

Access Encyclopedia of Philosophers

Access Fashion Central

Access Fashion Video

Access Medieval Studies

Access Screen Studies

Access T&T Clark Theology Library

Publishers Announcement

Bristol University Press/Policy Press

Trial to various journals until 26th June 2020.

Access European Journal of Politics and Gender

Access Evidence & Policy

Access Global Discourse: An interdisciplinary journal of current affairs

Access International Journals of Care and Caring

Access Journal of Gender-Based Violence

Access Longitudinal and Life Course Studies

Access Journal of Poverty and Social Justice

Access Journal of Psychosocial Studies

Access Journal of Public Finance and Public Choice

Information about the resource platform

British Online Archives

3,832,343 records covering 1000 years of world history: from politics & warfare, to slavery & revolution. Especially great for History students researching the World Wars, Cold War, colonisation of America, slavery and British popular protest. All collections are available until 31st May 2020.

Access British Online Archives

Cambridge University Press

Cambridge are providing online access to higher education textbooks and coronavirus research during the COVID-19 outbreak.

Access Cambridge Core

Access Companions

Access Elements

Access Histories

Information about Cambridge resources

Publishers announcement

Cochrane Library

From 23rd March, the resource can be accessed globally.

Access Cochrane Library

Information about the resource

Publishers statement

EBSCO

Unlimited user access on all pre-existing eBook subscriptions until June 30.

Access EBSCOhost ebooks

Information about the resource

Findmypast

Temporarily available off campus for until the July 31.
Please contact the library if you would like the temporary password for this service.
Online genealogy service. Search over 4 billion records of census, directory and historical record information.

Access Findmypast

Gale Primary Sources

Content has been made available on additional archives until May 31.

Access Gale Primary Sources

Additional archives:

Archives of Sexuality and Gender

The Mirror Historical Archive, 1903-2000

Slavery and Anti-Slavery 

State Papers Online, 1509-1714 (Tudors and Stuarts)

Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003

U.S. Declassified Documents Online

Harvard University Press

Available until 31st May 2020.

Access Loeb Classics

Information about the resource (Excel)

IEEE Xplore

Access to the IEEE eLearning Library, which includes hundreds of hours of courses in new and emerging technologies until 30 June 2020.

Access IEEE eLearning Library

JSTOR

View 26 new Public Health journals until 30 June 2020.

Access new Public Health Journals

Information about JSTOR

LWW Health Library

All content in the following sections: Medical Education; Occupational Therapy; Physical Therapy; Speech, Language and hearing, Exercise Science, Psychiatry is available until 30 June 2020

Access LWW Health Library

Medici.TV

Medici.tv the worlds leading classical music channel, are providing online access during the COVID-19 outbreak.

Access medici.tv

MIT Press Direct ebooks

All ebooks on MIT Press Direct platform will be available until 30 June 2020.

Access MIT Press Direct

Ohio State University Press

Freely eBooks available with content on humanities and social sciences subjects.

Access Knowledge Bank

Publishers available titles (Excel file)

Project MUSE

Participating publishers in humanities and social sciences.

Access Project MUSE

Information about the resource

Publishers list

ProQuest

The following database is available until 31st May 2020.

Access Academic Video Online

Some content now provides unlimited user access to Ebook Central holdings until mid-June. 

Access Ebook Central

Information about the resource

Publishers announcement

SAE Mobilus

Platform for aerospace and engineering information.

Access SAE Mobilus

Science Direct ebooks

The 256 textbooks currently on ScienceDirect will be available until early-mid June.

Access Science Direct

Information about the resource

Publishers eBook List (Excel file)

Society of Industrial and Applied Mathematics

Free access to a new Data Science journal until 31st December 2020.

Access Journal on Mathematics of Data Science 

Springer Nature

Additional access to 500 core textbooks through SpringerLink

Access SpringerLink

Publishers eBook List: English (Excel file) | German (Excel file)

More information about SpringerLink

Publishers Announcement

Statista

Global data platform with insights and facts across 600 industries and over 60 countries.  Includes COVID-19 data. Access until  30th June 2020

Access Statista

Access Global Consumer Data

Trismegistos

Access information about the Ancient World and Egypt.

Access Tm Texts

University of California Press

UC will offer free access to all journals through June 2020. Covers arts, humanities and science subjects, including research methods.

Access University of California Press Journals

About University of California Press

Publishers Statement

University of Michigan Press

Alongside their Open Access content, University of Michigan Press have extended access to their full ebook collection (1153 tites) until 30 June 2020.

Access University of Michigan Press

VLEbooks 

Select eBooks from over 150 publishers will be allowing unlimited user access until the end of June.

Access VLEbooks

Information about the resource

Participating publishers (PDF)

World Microfilms Publications​

Listen to talks by leaders in architecture. Available until 3rd July 2020.

Access Pidgeon Digital

World Scientific

Access to all journal content from 2001. Covers subjects in business, science, medicine and social sciences. Ends 30th June 2020.

Access World Scientific

COVID-19 content only

BioOne

Access journals related to COVID-19 (see 'Publishers Announcement' for further details)

Access BioOne

Publishers Announcement

British Medical Journal (BMJ)

Access practical CPD online courses and information on COVID19.

Access Online Courses for Fast Tracked Students and more

Access BMJ's Coronavirus (covid-19) Hub

Dimensions

A comprehensive list of research papers, data sets and clinical trials on Covid-19. Updated daily.

Access Dimensions

View the Google Sheet

Download the Excel from Figshare

Elsevier

Free access to articles and textbooks.

Access supporting your response to COVID-19

Emerald Publishing

Free access to COVID-19, management of pandemics and supply chain management literature.

Access Emerald

Information about the resource

Publishers Announcement

IEEE Xplore

All COVID-19 research articles are free to access and available in a custom search.

Access custom search for COVID-19 research

JAMA

COVID-19 hub offering information on epidemiology, patient information and official CDC and WHO guidance.

Access JAMA​ Coronavirus Disease 2019

JOVE

Pragmatic video content on using PPE equipment, hand hygiene and procedures for swabbing and lab work.

Access Coronavirus Free Access Resource Center

Karger

All COVID-19 articles and information are free to access until the end of 2020.

Access Topic Article Package: Coronavirus (COVID-19)

Lexis Nexis

How coronavirus is affecting law.

Access Law360 Coronavirus

Mary Ann Liebert

All COVID-19 research articles are free to access and will continue to be made open access.

Access COVID-19 Science-backed research

NICE (National Institute of Clinical Excellence)

View clinical guidelines, access clinical knowledge summaries and sign up for free updates.

Access Coronavirus (COVID-19)

Ovid

Tool kit for clinicians including an introduction to COVID-19, select journal articles and search strategies for Medline and Ovid.

Access COVID-19 Tool kit

Oxford University Press

Free online content from leading journals on the coronavirus health crisis.

Access free access to OUP resources on coronavirus and related topics

Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences

Freely available news, commentary, research and data related to coronavirus.

Access Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19)

Royal Society

Free articles related to COVID-19.

Access research findings and data relevant to the covid-19 pandemic

Royal Society of Medicine

Webinars by healthcare leaders providing the latest updates on COVID-19 for medical professionals.

Access RSM Live

Sage

Free articles related to COVID-19 including social and behavioral research.

Access Coronavirus (COVID-19) research

Information about the resource

Society of Industrial and Applied Mathematics

Free access to epidemiology papers.

Access the Epidemiology collection

Springer Nature

Latest COVID-19 news and research is freely available.

Access SpringerLink

Information about the resource

Publishers Announcement

Taylor & Francis

A list of open access information related to COVID-19

Access T&F Reading List

The New England Journal of Medicine

Publicly accessible articles, commentary, clinical reports and management guidelines.

Access Coronavirus (COVID-19) resources

About NEJM

Thieme

Select articles from medical journals are now free to access.

Access Coronavirus resources

About Thieme

Wolters Kluwer

An open access hub for clinicians and nurses.

Access COVID-19 Resources & Tools