Recommended for: Case law Legislation Journal articles
Up to date coverage of the most important decisions from the Supreme and High Courts, as well as legislation, articles and press coverage. Covers specialist areas such as Personal Injury and EU law. Video: EU cases
Log in with your University username and password. First time users will need to add a name and email address before proceeding.
Our subscription includes:
Lawtel UK: a searchable database for case law, legislation, white and green papers, publications, articles. Access to Lawtel Civil Procedure, Lawtel Local Government, Lawtel Employment and Lawtel Personal Injury is also available
Lawtel EU: EU law. Covers all official EU documents within 24 hours of release. It also includes case law, legislation, commission reports, notices, press releases and an index to relevant journal articles. It includes some full text articles.
Kemp on Lawtel: Commentary
Kemp on Lawtel: Quantum
Full text availability
References, abstracts and some full text, including full text of The Lawyer (1994-) and The Legal Executive (1996-)
Log in with your University username and password.
Full text up-to-date access to all UK in-force legislation; a case search facility and access to a number of full text law reports series including the England Law Reports Service, Company Cases, Human rights and Industrial Law Reports.
Access Lexis PSL, a tool that provides you with up to date, practical guidance to help you work confidently and efficiently.
Whilst Lexis Library is primarily a law database, it also includes full-text articles from a range of UK national and regional newspapers.
Full text availability
Full-text books, reports and articles.
Some gaps in newspaper coverage.
On campus: If you click the link above, you should already be logged in on campus (unless you are on your own device - in which case, you should log in with your University username and password when prompted). You may then see a box entitled OnePass. You need to add your name and an email address to this box the first time you log in.
Off campus:The first time you log in you may need to select sign in with academic institution (even if you see an error message - scroll down the screen). You will then be prompted to add an email address and your name. This will redirect you to the Westlaw service.
UK Case law with over 400,000 case reports and transcripts dating back to 1220.
Legislation consolidated back to 1267 and updated daily.
Analytical commentary from the entire Common Law Library and a large range of market-leading books and looseleafs.
Over 110 journals and access to abstracts of every article in every English-language legal journal in Europe via the Legal Journals Index.
National, regional and international news and business updates.
EU and international material.
Current awareness updated every 15 minutes.
Full text availability
Full text coverage of over 110 law reports, including ICLR and Weekly Law Reports series and monitor and match an additional 100 reports, including the All England Law Reports. 110 full text journals. Full UK legislation coverage.
This video will demonstrate how to use Lawtel in order to search for EU Cases. Lawtel EU includes full-text, up-to-date access to all official EU documents. These include case law, legislation, commission reports and more.
Once on Lawtel's homepage, click on Specialist Areas and then choose EU from the listin order to access Lawtel EU.
You will notice that some of the titles in the tabs above have now changed; EU Cases, Legislation, Treaties and Practice Tools. To search for a case, you will need to click on EU Cases and choose the Advanced Search option.
You have the option of using the fields titled summary, Case name or Case number. In this instance, I am going to type in metock v minister for justice equality and law reform. Press enter.
The Results page has given me the link to the full case. In order to access this, click on the link highlighted in blue. This should take you to a summary page.
This is how most case numbers are listed for EU cases, should you wish to search using the case number. For the full text, click on the link highlighted in blue at the bottom of the page.
The full case will appear in a new window, and will be in PDF format, with which you are given the optionto save or print.
You have now reached the end of this video. For more help and information, please ask a member of staff in the library, or visit the library website.