Manchester Metropolitan University home page
Library home page

Love to Read

Selected resources from the Manchester Metropolitan University Library collection for leisure reading and reading for pleasure.

Breaking news

We've just refreshed our collection to take us through autumn and into the cold winter nights to come - more details of what it includes will follow shortly, but you can guarantee there are a lot of great books in there.

Summer collection now available

We think our summer collection has something to suit everyone, with books from Neil Gaiman ('American Gods' - watch this podcast interview with the author), Terry Pratchett, Stephen King, Patrick Ness, James Patterson, Louise Doughty, Emma Cline, Amy Poehler, Lena Dunham and Tina Fey, to name but a few, with a selection of Young Adult fiction included. If you want to become creative in the kitchen, look no further than Jack Monroe, Nadiya Hussain, Ella Mills, Jamie Oliver and Ruby Tandoh, or if you are looking for inspiration in the house and garden, we've got that for you too. Autobiographies? There are several to choose from, and if you are into sport, just have a look at the selection below, complemented by a taster of our books at Crewe. Oh happy days...

Sport books

 

wakeletPowered by Wakelet

 

wakelet Powered by Wakelet

Table football image courtesy of pixabay.

 

 

wakeletPowered by Wakelet

 

wakelet Powered by Wakelet

 

Cycling image courtesy of pixabay.

Loading

The ManMet/MPL Collection

The All Saints Library has a fantastic collection of around 150 books from MPL on offer to you, our ManMet staff and students, as a lovely little extra, to entice you into the world of reading for pleasure, and to introduce you to the delights of your local public library service. The collection launched on Friday 20th January 2017 (have a look here and on our social media channels), and consists mainly of popular fiction, but with a sprinkling of cookbooks and biographies in there too. Let us know if there are any titles or genres you would like to see more of, and we'll do our best to oblige!

So ... why not allow yourself the luxury and feel the pleasure of losing yourself in a good read... and try the MMU Library 2017 Reading Challenge too

Manchester Public Libraries (MPL)

Manchester Public Libraries (MPL) comprises ‚Äč23 branches in total run by Manchester City Council, including the magnificent Central Library - a great place to visit and also home to eBooks, audio books and eMagazines and Archives +.

Join, look for, reserve and renew.

Opening times and locations.

Get the Library app

Have a look at the Read Manchester campaign, run jointly by Manchester City Council and the National Literacy Trust to promote reading and boost literacy throughout the city.

Zinio

Free e-magazines available from your computer, smartphone or tablet. Over 90 magazines are currently available covering everything from food to computers, and music to art. Titles include Hello!; BBC Good Food; Amateur Photographer, BBC Top Gear; Horrible Histories and Cosmopolitan, to name but a few.