Celebrating diversity
Learn more about underrepresented individuals and groups from the library and the topics and issues that matter most
Diversity and the Library
We’re committed to creating and maintaining inclusive learning environments and diverse library collections and resources. We’ll strive to ensure that our collections and our work is not biased or directed by a single perspective and is informed by different voices.
Our collections feature content about many different and diverse communities and identities across the University and beyond, and we will continue to work with others to develop them in areas they are not.
Black History Month (Oct, 2023)
Throughout history, Black women have played a central role in social justice movements, fearlessly confronting oppression and championing social change. Black History Month 2023 presents a important occasion to recognise and applaud the exceptional accomplishments of Black women by directing our attention towards honouring these influential people and leaders. We do this by presenting a selection reading from our library.
Such a fun age by Kiley Reid
An American marriage by Tayari Jones
Sing, unburied, sing by Jesmyn Ward
Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
Hunger : a memoir of (my) body by Roxane Gay
The hate u give by Angie Thomas
Children of blood and bone by Tomi Adeyemi
Red at the bone by Jacqueline Woodson
The poet X : a novel by Elizabeth Acevedo
Girl, woman, other by Bernardine Evaristo
Hello mum by Bernardine Evaristo
And the stars were burning brightly by Danielle Jawando
The terrible by Yrsa Daley-Ward
Red dust road by Jackie Kay
I know why the caged bird sings by Maya Angelou
Diversifying, decolonising and decanonising collections
Working with staff and students, we’ve brought together this page to highlight a range of materials written by or about underrepresented groups.
We recognise that everyone is unique and different and has many identities, belonging to many different groups and communities. So whilst we’ve divided our collections into discrete categories, this is simply for ease of access and navigation, and in no way an attempt to pigeonhole individuals or ideas.
It is by no means an exhaustive collection, so please let us know if you think we’ve missed something.
Featured collection: decolonisation
Featured collection: decolonisation
White fragility: why it's so hard for white people to talk about racism - Robin DiAngelo
Decolonisation in Universities: The Politics of Knowledge - edited by Jonathan D. Jansen
Dismantling race in higher education: Racism, whiteness and decolonising the academy - Jason Arday
Rhodes must fall: The struggle to decolonise the racist heart of empire - The Rhodes Must Fall Movement
Decolonising the university
Why I'm no longer talking to white people about race
bell hooks: Cultural Criticism & Transformation
Souls of Black Girls: The Image of Women of Color in the Media
Featured collection: LGBTQ+
Featured collection: LGBTQ+
Queer: A graphic history - Meg-John Barker & Jules Scheele
Sissy: A coming-of-gender story - Jacob Tobia
Oranges are not the only fruit - Jeanette Winterson
Trans*: A quick and quirky account of gender variability - Jack Halberstam
This book is gay - Juno Dawson
Prejudice and pride: A LGBT activist stories from Manchester and beyond - LGBT Youth North West (England)
Global Homophobia: The Roots Of Hatred
Tongues Untied: Giving a Voice to Black Gay Men
Going deeper with resource lists
We’ve been working with others from across the University and put together these extensive resources lists.
These lists highlight materials written by or about BAME people across a range of disciplines - from Art, History and Literature to Business, Healthcare and more. Our TV, film and radio list includes films, tv series, documentaries, as well as biopics and audio books, including Marvel’s Black Panther, Do the Right Thing, East is East and many more.
These lists showcase our collections relating to the members of the LGBTQ+ community. They contain academic texts and more generalist materials, including fiction and non-fiction.
We use the Dewey Decimal classification system to catalogue our books and we are tied by the rules and subject headings contained within this system. However, some of the terminology in the classification is a little dated and does not reflect current cultural references or preferences. Like language, the Dewey Decimal system continues to evolve, as it strives to become more inclusive of different identities and communities. It’s important to keep this in mind when researching LGBTQ+ topics.
Descriptive terms relating to sexuality have changed over time. For example, the term homosexuality was not used with its contemporary meaning until the end of the nineteenth century, and many terms used in historical records might be considered offensive today or have a different meaning. Terms can also have different meaning depending on the individual, group, context, country etc. Therefore, it’s important to consider this when searching for information relating to LGBTQ+ topics.
These lists showcase materials written by or about people with a disability. They include fiction and non-fiction covering a wide range of topics and subject areas.
Decolonising database collections
Research has demonstrated that mainstream, established databases and search engines have a western, global north bias. Therefore, this collection of databases was created to showcase and highlight research produced by underrepresented groups, focusing on the Global South. This collection of databases are here to help research beyond established databases.