Journals and Magazines
Journals and Magazines
Journals and magazines are a great source for research. They contain articles on a variety of topics, which are often much more specific than books. As they are published regularly, they are useful for up to date research. Many journals are peer reviewed containing top quality academic information. The Library has a vast collection with many titles available online as well as an extensive print collection located on the Second Floor East Wing.
If you are looking for articles, then a good place to start is Library Search, where you can use keywords to look for specific articles. Once you have run a search you can limit results by selecting Article under Format.
Looking for a specific journal
Ejournals
A quick way to check if we have access to a journal online is to look for the title on the Ejournals A-Z.
Type in the name of the journal/magazine and click to Search.
If available, you will get a link to the full text as well as details about the volumes and years available online.
Using Library Search
Journals/magazines are also listed on Library Search as some of our titles are only available in print.
Enter the title of the journal into Library Search and run the search.
Now under Format, select Journal, Magazine
This will then show if the journal is available in print and/or online form as well as the years available.
Specialist Collections
The library has access to many specialist journal archives from Woman Magazine Archive, Art and Architecture Archive, Vogue US to 19th Century Periodicals. Have a look at your subject guide for relevant online collections in your subject area.
Alongside our online archives, the library also has extensive historical print collections. A particular specialism are women’s magazines. This specialist guide details the vast range of titles available - Women’s magazine collections
