Manchester Metropolitan University homepage
Library homepage

Employability skills resources

Resources for graduates and Alumni

Manchester Met students have access to many library resources after graduation.  This section will highlight the materials available to you at Manchester Met and elsewhere.

Reference access to Manchester Met library and our print resources can be gained through either:

A selection of Online resources can be accessed on-campus at Manchester Met via the Walk-in access scheme.  Alumni membership and Visitor status both allow Walk-in access to this selection of e-resources.

The resources highlighted on this page are accessible on-campus at Manchester Met only via the Walk-in access service.

Print books

Manchester Met provides access to many print titles on various employability topics: from CV writing and interview skills to business start-up information.

A few suggested titles are listed below

Print book selection

Ready made CVs

A good CV is an essential tool in the survival kit of every job hunter. It shows that you have the necessary qualities and qualifications that potential employers are looking for, and improves your chances of getting an interview.

Brilliant graduate career handbook

What are you going to do with your degree once you've graduated? This book gives you the help and information you need to get started on your graduate career - understanding what's out there, how to make sense of it, and how to make good choices.

The Graduate Career Guidebook

Written directly for students and graduates, this guidebook divides the career journey into manageable steps and provides systematic support at each stage, for a successful career planning strategy.

Just the Job!

"Just the Job " will help you: - Plan an effective job hunt; Find those hidden dream jobs that are never advertised; Use the power of social media to connect with influential people.Understand what really motivates employers and recruitment agents "Just the Job " offers you" "an original and highly effective way to approach your search.

eBooks available on-campus

If you are an Alumni member of, or have visitor access to, Manchester Met Library then you can search two of our largest eBook collections.  

The relevant links and guides to these collections  can be seen below

Image: CC0 / Public domain

Researching commercial companies for job applications and interviews

The three databases listed below provide company and industry information, which is useful for researching your potential future employer and industry sector.

Following graduation, access is available whenever you are on a Manchester Met campus.

Short videos demonstrating how to locate relevant information on these databases can be found below

Open access

Open Access (OA) resources provide a wealth of freely available, high quality, online materials and can accessed on or off campus without the need for any Manchester Met login ID and password.

Carry out a search Library Search and on the results page, select Open Access from under the Refine your Search heading on the left hand side.

Image: CC0 / Public domain

Public Library Services

Public Libraries can offer a wealth of information sources, support and advice.

Manchester Central Library, for example, is home to The Business and Intellectual Property Centre which offers:

  • Free access to business and intellectual property databases and publications, including market research, company data, business news and information on intellectual property (IP)
  • Access to business advisors and experts when you're starting up or growing your business
  • Workshops and networking events

Publications (print and electronic) will allow you to research the industry and sector in which you are interested in working too.

Image: CC0 / Public domain

Associations

Professional associations are an excellent way of obtaining up-to-date information in your field and prospective career.

Total Professions provides an easy search facility for you to locate professional bodies relevant to you and aims to raise awareness of the activities of professional bodies and associations.

Examples of trade, professional and sector associations include:

Newspaper careers pages

Broadsheet newspapers contain careers pages which include up-to-date information on career trends, essential skills for graduates, CV writing, interview tips and job vacancies.

The careers section of a print newspaper.

 

Guardian Careers

The Independent iJobs

Telegraph Jobs

The Times Careers and Jobs

 

Image: 'Newspaper - Careers' © www.flazingo.com licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0

Most newspapers will also have a specific Graduate careers page

Guardian graduate jobs

The Independent graduate jobs

The Telegraph graduate jobs

MMU Careers and Employability video resources

Manchester Met's Careers and Employability Service provides a collection of careers guides including videos and printable guides.