Digimap

This video will briefly demonstrate how to register and use Digimap. Digimap provides access to maps and map data and includes a number of collections including Ordnance Survey, Historical, Geological and environmental maps.   

The first time you access Digimap you will need to register.  

Click on the orange pop up.  

Then fill in the details required, using your Manchester Metropolitan University email address. An email will be sent to your email account containing a verification link. Click on this link to complete your registration.  

This is the Digimap homepage, we have access to all 9 collections which are regularly updated. In order to access any content on Digimap, you must agree to the licence agreement for each of the collections. To do this, either try to access a collection or click on the drop down arrow next to My Digimap towards the top right hand corner and select My collections  

Simply select each section and fill in the details required.  

In this video, we are going to look at the roam feature for Ordnance survey maps. Select “Ordnance Survey” on the left hand side of the screen.  

Select “Roam”.  You can also download data to use in GIS and CAD here.  

Digimap will then display the whole of the UK, I have used the slider here to zoom in on Manchester.  

Click on Basemaps to see different options to use as your base map. You can also click on the printer icon to print your map at any time.  

The menu on the left hand side gives you additional details about your map and various options to interact with it.  

The Overview map option displays your map coverage in relation to the UK as a whole.  

The map content option shows you a key for your map.  

The My maps option allows you to save your map and also to open maps you have previously saved.  

The Overlays option allows you to add hill shading.  

The Annotation tools option allows you to add markers, select areas and draw on your map.  

The measurement tools allow you to measure distances and areas on your map.  

Finally the map information option gives you additional details about your map.  

In the Historic maps collection, which ranges from 1843 to 1996, you have the same options to Roam or download data. In the “Ancient Roam” you have the same options on the left hand side and can select the date required along the top of the map.  

In Geology Roam you have access to different basemaps and can use the active legend option on the left hand side to display a detailed legend for your map.  

in Environment Roam, you can again change the base map you are viewing and use the same tools available in the Ordnance survey roam.  

In the marine roam, you can use the tools available to check the depth areas, obstructions and shipwrecks. 

Aerial Roam allows you to view detailed aerial imagery at various fixed scales 

The Lidar data comes from the Environment agency and provides accurate data of the earth’s surface. It allows you to download map data in GIS or CAD software. 

Global Roam allows you to browse, print and annotate global maps.  

And Society Roam provides you with a range of Census and socio-economic data from Great Britain.   

For more help and information please email the library or visit the library website.