Manchester Metropolitan University homepage
Library homepage

Covid–19 Library update

Important changes to our services. Find out more

Library Search

Search for books, articles and more.

Library Search

What is Library Search?

Fast, simple search of many of our subject databases, ebooks, full text journal articles, Special Collections and Manchester Poetry Library.  You can also discover content from libraries worldwide.

Please note: To get the most out of Library Search and to ensure that you can access content, sign in using your Manchester Metropolitan University ID and password by clicking on the Sign In link in the top right hand corner of the page. If using a mobile device, you will be prompted to sign in when carrying out a search.

 

Why use Library Search?

  • Access full text quickly and easily to support your learning.
  • Find what you need from the Library in one place - books, ebooks, journals, ejournals, newspapers and more.
  • Save time as the simple interface lets you focus on finding and using resources.
  • Refine your search by limiting your results to a specific source type such as peer reviewed journal articles.
  • Use the Browse the Shelf feature to find additional, relevant print books on a specific topic
  • Create lists of sources to refer back to or share with others
  • Save your searches

Getting started with Library Search

Use Library Search to access books, ebooks, journal articles and more.

To get started, just type your keywords into the search box on the homepage of the library website and click search. In this example, I’m looking for information on plagiarism in Higher Education. 

From the results page, you may see the additional databases box at the bottom of the screen. This provides details of suggested databases that you may also want to search. To hide this box, simply click on the button next to the additional databases heading.  

At the top of the screen you can see that the default setting is to include related terms in your search results. If you would like to only search for your exact keywords click on your keywords. 

To experience the full functionality of Library Search, It is advisable to sign in. Just click on the sign in link in the top right hand corner of the page. Your search results will be listed. Underneath each result you can see what source type it is, for example an ebook or a downloadable journal article. Apply a format filter to limit your search results to a specific source type. In this example, I am searching for print books available to borrow from the library. I am interested in the second result.  Some print books may also be available as an ebook which is the case for the second result.

To access the ebook, click on the Access Online link. I want to borrow the print version of this book from the library. From this page you can see whether the book is available and the precise location of the book in the library. Make a note of the shelf number which you will need to locate the book on the shelf. To see more information about the book, click on the title. On this page you can find a summary of the book and any reading lists that the book is on will be listed. You can also reserve a copy of the book if there are no available copies in the library. 

To limit your search results to ebooks only, tick the ebook filter. To access a specific ebook, click on the View ebook button.  For some ebooks you may see Access online rather than View ebook. This means that the ebook is available via more than one platform. Click on Access Online and then click on one of the view ebook links. In this example, I have applied the article filter. When you do this, your results will include some journal articles however they will also include other sources such as newspaper articles as is the case for the second result.  

To search for peer-reviewed journal articles only you will need to apply a second filter. Scroll down the page and tick the peer reviewed filter underneath the content type heading. You will then see that all of the results listed are articles from peer reviewed journals. You may also want to apply a year range filter to your results. You can either select one of the pre-defined ranges underneath the publication year heading or, specify your own year range by entering the required dates in the boxes provided. I have selected journal articles published in the last 5 years.  

Similarly to ebooks, results that display an access online link are available in full text via more than one platform. Results that display a view full text link will redirect you immediately to the full text of the article. Once you are happy with your results you have several options in the top right hand corner of each result. Click on the share button to email yourself the details of a particular source.  Click on the Cite button to export the reference to Endnote. If you want to come back to a useful item later, you can save it to a  folder, just click on the save icon. When you save an item the link will change to saved  and you can see how many items are in your saved items folder in the top right hand corner of the screen. Click on the folder to view your saved items and create a permanent list.  Please be aware that if you have not signed in, this list of saved items is only temporary and they will disappear after a period of inactivity or, after closing Library Search. Click on the sign in link to create a permanent list of saved items. 

Once you are signed in, Click on the create list link to create a permanent list of saved items. For more help and information please email the library or visit the library website.