Manchester Metropolitan University homepage
Library homepage

Walk in access

How do I access these services?

Most of these services are listed in our A-Z database listing.

Some are just small journal publishers with a few titles (or even a single title). You are most likely to need to use these when linking to articles from search results.

Use of online resources

Academic computing icon Library Services' online resources are provided for academic use only, to help students and staff with their academic work.

They must not be used for any commercial purpose, nor may you share your login credentials (username and password) with anyone else for any purpose.

Online services available to Walk-In Access users

  • AAIDD Online Journals
  • Accessible Archives (Civil War Collection (Parts I - VI), Reconstruction of Southern States)
  • ACM Digital Library
  • Adam Matthew Digital
  • AFPE (Physical Education Matters and Primary Physical Education Matters) [PP]
  • Alexander Street Press (British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries, MediaPlus, Teachers' TV)
  • American Asssociation for Clinical Chemistry (Clinical Chemistry and Journal of Applied Laboratory Medicine)
  • American Marketing Association (Journal of marketing)
  • American Physiological Society Journals
  • American Society for Microbiology
  • American Society for Nutrition Journals
  • American Society of Plant Biologists Journals
  • A-N The Artists Network
  • Annals of Family Medicine
  • Annals of Mathematics (Princeton)
  • Annual Reviews (Annual Review of Plant Physiology and Plant Molecular Biology)
  • Art History Research Net (formerly Arts:Search)
  • Association for Science Education (ASE)
  • Bioscientifica
  • Bloomsbury Digital Resources (includes Berg Fashion Library, Churchill Archive, Drama Online and others)
  • BMJ Journals
  • BREPOLiS (Bibliography of British and Irish History)
  • Brepols Online
  • BrillOnline (direct, includes World Christian Database, World Religion Database and Arkyves)
  • British History Online (T&F)
  • British Standards Online (BSI)
  • Cambridge Books Online
  • Cambridge Companions Online
  • Cambridge Core
  • Cambridge Journals Online
  • Capital & class (Conference of Socialist Economists)
  • Chadwyck Databases (John Johnson Collection - ProQuest)
  • Community Practitioner [PP]
  • Company of biologists journals (Journal of embryology and experimental morphology, J. Exp. Biol.)
  • De Gruyter Online
  • Drama Research
  • Duke University Press Journals
  • EBSCOhost databases
  • Elsevier ScienceDirect and Scopus
  • Emerald Insight
  • Encyclopedia of Ancient History
  • Endnote Online and Incites (JCR)
  • English Historical Documents Online (T&F)
  • Equinox Journals (Journal of interactional research in communication disorders)
  • European Journal of Person Centred Healthcare (University of Buckingham Press)
  • European Respiratory Journal
  • Find My Past
  • FiT Publishing (Sport Marketing Quarterly)
  • Gale databases
  • Green Building
  • Guilford Publications
  • Harvard Education Publishing Group
  • Healio
  • HeinOnline
  • Historical Association (Teaching History)
  • Human Kinetics Journals
  • ICE Virtual Library (direct)
  • IEEE Xplore
  • IGI Global
  • IHS Technical indexes - Info4Education Portal (Construction Information Service; OHSIS; Specify-it; Info4engineering; LA
  • Inderscience Online
  • Informa Healthcare
  • INFORMS PubsOnline
  • IngentaConnect
  • Institute of Physics (IOP Archive - direct)
  • IOS Press
  • JISC (inc Historical Texts, Journal Archives)
  • Journal of Orthopaedic and Sports Physical Therapy (JOSPT)
  • JSTOR
  • Karger
  • Kluwer Law
  • Knovel
  • Lawtel
  • Liverpool University Press
  • Medical Journals (Journal of rehabilitation medicine)
  • Modern Language Association (PMLA) (inc Profession)
  • Moody's Bank Focus (BvD - formerly Orbis)
  • MyiLibrary Collection
  • National Council of Teachers of English
  • Nature Publishing
  • Naxos Music Library
  • New left review
  • Osiris (BvD)
  • Ovid
  • Oxford Art Online
  • Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
  • Oxford English Dictionary
  • Oxford Journals
  • Oxford Music Online
  • Oxford Reference (Classical Dictionary, Essential Quotations, needed for Music Online)
  • Oxford Scholarship Online
  • Physical and health education journal
  • Portland Press Journals
  • Practical Law (Thomson Reuters)
  • Project MUSE (Humanities Collection)
  • ProQuest
  • Quintessence Publications [PP]
  • Reaxys (Elsevier)
  • Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy (T&F)
  • Royal Society of Chemistry and Chemistry World (Journals and Archive - direct)
  • SAGE Publications and Journals (inc SAGE Research Methods)
  • Schattauer Publishers (Thrombosis and haemostasis)
  • Science - AAAS (Science Magazine archive via JISC)
  • SpringerLink
  • Symposium Books Journals (FORUM: for promoting 3-19 comprehensive education)
  • Taylor and Francis eBooks
  • Taylor and Francis Online
  • Telos Online/Telos Press
  • Textile Terms and Definitions
  • UKPressOnline (South Eastern Gazette)
  • UN World Tourism Organization (UNTWO)
  • University of Chicago Press
  • University of Illinois Press (American Philosophical Quarterly)
  • University of Texas Press (Journal of the history of sexuality)
  • Warc
  • Web of Knowledge (inc Web of Science)
  • Wiley Online Library (and Cochrane Library)

Last update: 17/3/2020