Manchester Metropolitan University homepage
Library homepage

Covid–19 Library update

Important changes to our services. Find out more

EndNote

Information about software that can help you organise your references.

About EndNote

What is it?

Software to help organise your references.

How can it help?

EndNote works seamlessly with Word to create in-text citations and a bibliography. You can choose from a range of referencing styles, including MMU Harvard.

Which version should I use?

EndNote Online

EndNote Desktop

EndNote iPad

Register for Endnote Online

Register for an EndNote Online account:

To register

To get access to the enhanced Endnote account, which includes features such as the MMU Harvard referencing style you first need to register via Web of Science.

  • Go directly to Web of Science
  • Click Sign In (at the top of screen)
  • Choose Register
  • Then retype your email address and click Continue.
  • A verification code will be sent to your email address.  Login into your email and type in the code you have been sent
  • Enter your details and choose a password. Your password must be eight characters long, include an uppercase letter, a lower case letter as well as a number and a symbol e.g. ! Click to Confirm.  A confirmation message will appear.
  • Now click on Endnote (at the top of screen), which will take you directly to your new Endnote account.

Once you have created an account you can access it directly by going to www.myendnoteweb.com

 

Using the MMU Harvard style with Endnote

Using the MMU Harvard style with Endnote Desktop and Endnote Online

Updated 08/08/19


An MMU Harvard output style is available within Endnote and Endnote Online, listed under ‘MMU Harvard’ and ‘Harvard MMU’.
Use these instructions in conjunction with the MMU Harvard referencing guide; prior knowledge and experience of using Endnote is required. The following instructions for the manual input and editing of references, sets out the Endnote reference type you need to use for specific sources. Specific ‘fields’ are indicated where it is not obvious where certain elements of a reference should be entered.
For sources where the title is used in the citation in place of the author i.e.: Acts of Parliament; Case Law; Films; Broadcasts; Statutory Instruments, although the title will appear in the citation, it may need to be slightly edited to conform to the correct format e.g. edited from italics to normal font. Please check the MMU Harvard guide to ascertain the correct citation format required for such sources and edit accordingly.

 

SOURCES

Table of contents
SOURCES
Acts of parliament  
Annual report  Annual report – online copy
Annual reports – print copy
Apps App content
Book  
Briefing papers Briefing papers – online copy
Briefing papers – print copy
Case law   
Chapter in edited book  
Company data/reports from company financial databases  
Computer/Video game Computer/Video game – online/download version
Conference papers Conference papers published – online copy
Conference papers published – print copy
Conference papers unpublished
Conference proceedings  
Discussion papers Discussion papers – online copy
Discussion papers – print copy
 
Dissertations/theses Dissertations/theses – online copy
Dissertations/theses– print copy
ebook readers  
EU documents/legislation  
Films/DVDs/Videos  
Foreign language sources  
General reports  
Government command papers  
Guest presentation  
Journals Journal article – print copy
Journal article – online only
Journal article – first online
Journal special issue
Leaflets/posters  
Lecture notes  
Market reports/company and industry profiles/country reports  Market reports/company and industry profiles/country reports – online copy
Market reports/company and industry profiles/country reports – print copy
Newspaper article Newspaper article – online edition
Newspaper article – print edition
Online images/photos  
Online PDF document  
Online videos  
Plays  
Songs  
Standards Standards – online copy
Standards – print copy
Statutory instruments  
Television and radio broadcasts  
Translated book  
Webpages Webpage – author name present
Webpage – no author
Working papers Working papers – online copy
Working papers – print copy


ACTS OF PARLIAMENT


Short title of the Act and Year (chapter number of the Act, abbreviated to ‘c.’) Place of publication: Publisher.


EXAMPLE


Housing Act 1996. (c.52) London: HMSO.


INSTRUCTIONS


Use Reference Type: Statute
- Enter the chapter number of the act in Code Number field including the c.
- Enter Place of publication in the Country field
- Enter the Publisher in the Source field


ANNUAL REPORT – ONLINE COPY


Name of company. (Year of publication) Title of annual report (in italics). [Online] [Date accessed] URL


EXAMPLE


British Geological Survey. (2010) Annual report 2010-2011. [Online] [Accessed on 24th April 2012]
http://www.bgs.ac.uk/downloads/


INSTRUCTIONS


Use Reference Type: Webpage
- Enter Name of company in Author field (with a comma at the end e.g. British Geological Survey,)
- Enter full access date (including year) in Access Date field – do not use Access year field


ANNUAL REPORTS – PRINT COPY


Name of company. (Year of publication) Title of annual report (in italics). Place of publication: Publisher.


EXAMPLE


eBay. (2011) Annual Report 2011. San Jose: eBay Inc.


INSTRUCTIONS


Use Reference Type: Report
- Enter Name of company in Author field (with a comma at the end e.g. British Geological Survey,)
- Enter Publisher in Institution field


APPS


Originator/s. (Year) (Use year accessed if release date is not available). Title of app. Version number (if known).[App] [Date accessed]


EXAMPLE


Skyscape. (2010) Skyscape Medical Resources. Version 1.9.11. [App] [Accessed on 18th January 2011]


INSTRUCTIONS


Use Reference Type: Online multimedia
- Enter Originator in Created by field
- Enter Title of app in Title field
- Enter version number in Label field
- Enter App in Type of Work field
- Enter Access date in Date Accessed field


APP CONTENT


Owner/creator. (Year) (Use year accessed if release date is not available). ‘Title of app content.’ Publisher or Producer (if ascertainable). Title of app. Version number. [App] [Date accessed]


EXAMPLE


Morgan, J. (2012) ‘Business marketing lecture.’ Duke University. iTunes-U. Version 1.9.11. [App] [Accessed on 25th January 2012]


INSTRUCTIONS


Use Reference Type: Online multimedia
- Enter Owner/Creator in Created by field
- Enter Title of app content in Series Title field
- Enter Publisher or Producer in Distributor field
- Enter Title of app in Title field
- Enter Version number in Label field
- Enter App in Type of Work field
- Enter Date accessed in Access Date field


BOOK


Surname/s, Initial/s. (Year of publication) Title of book. Edition if applicable., Place of publication: Publisher.


EXAMPLE


Sylvester, D. (2002) Interviews with Francis Bacon. 3rd ed., London: Thames and Hudson.


INSTRUCTIONS


Use Reference Type: Book


BRIEFING PAPERS – ONLINE COPY


Author’s surname/s, initial/s. (Year of publication) Title of paper (in italics). Organisation and/or number of paper. Place of publication: Publisher. [Online] [Date accessed] URL


EXAMPLES


Baker, C. (2017) Accident and emergency statistics: demand, performance and pressure. House of Commons Library Briefing Paper no. 6964. London: House of Commons Library. [Online] [Accessed on 3 rd April 2017]
http://researchbriefings.files.parliament.uk/documents/SN06964/SN06964.pdf


INSTRUCTIONS
Use reference type: Webpage
- Enter author (or organisation name) in Author field
- Enter title of paper in Title field
- Enter organisation and/or number of paper in Series Title field
- Enter date accessed in Access Date field


BRIEFING PAPERS – PRINT COPY


Author’s surname/s, initial/s. (Year of publication) Title of paper (in italics). Organisation and/or number of paper. Place of publication: Publisher.


EXAMPLE


Baker, C. (2017) Accident and emergency statistics: demand, performance and pressure. House of Commons Library Briefing Paper no. 6964. London: House of Commons Library.


INSTRUCTIONS


Use reference type: Book
- Enter author/s (or organisation/s name) in Author field
- Enter organisation and/or number of paper in Series Title field.


CASE LAW


Party Names (separated by a ‘v’ and in italics) [Year the case was heard] Volume number (if available) Law Report abbreviation Start page.


EXAMPLES


Alternative Power Solution Ltd v Central Electricity Board. [2014] 4 All ER 882.
Mountgarrett (Rt Hon Viscount) v Claro Water Board. (1963) 15 P & CR 53.


INSTRUCTIONS


Use reference type: Case
- Enter Party names (incl. v) in Case name field
- Enter Year in Year Decided field for square bracketed year
- Enter Year in Date Decided field for round bracketed year
- Enter volume in Reporter Volume field
- Enter Law report abbreviation in Reporter Abbreviation field
- Enter Start page in First Page field


NB: The citation for this source requires the full case and date e.g. (Alternative Power Solution Ltd v Central Electricity Board, 2014). However, Endnote will format the citation in italics by default. Therefore, it would require a manual edit to remove the italics, i.e. after unformatting the  document.



CHAPTER IN EDITED BOOK


Surname/s of author who wrote the chapter, Initial/s. (Year of publication) ‘Title of the chapter.’ In Surname of the editor/s, Initial. (ed/s.) Title of book. Edition if applicable., Place of publication: Publisher, first and last page numbers of the chapter.


EXAMPLE


Dickson, D. (2006) ‘Reflecting.’ In Hargie, O. (ed.) The handbook of communication skills. London: Routledge, pp. 165-194.


INSTRUCTIONS


Use Reference Type: Book section
- Enter Author of chapter in Author field
- Enter Title of chapter in Title field
- Enter Editor of whole book in Editor field
- Enter Title of edited book in Book Title field
- Enter the page range of the chapter in the Pages field


COMPANY DATA/REPORTS FROM COMPANY FINANCIAL DATABASES


Name of organisation (owner of database). (Year of report) Title of company report. Title of databases (in italics). [Online] [Date accessed] URL


EXAMPLE


Bureau van Dijk. (2015) Arcadia Group Limited company report. FAME. [Online] [Accessed on 15th July 2015]
https://fame-bvdinfo-com.ezproxy.mmu.ac.uk/version201572/Search.QuickSearch.serv?_CID=1&context=1NQ68UOWXT7ZWPY


INSTRUCTIONS


Use reference type: Webpage
- Enter Name of organisation in Author field
- Enter Year of report in Year field
- Enter Title of company report in Alternate Title field
- Enter Title of database in Title field
- Enter Date accessed in Access Date field
- Enter URL in URL field


COMPUTER/VIDEO GAME


Creator/Developer. (Year of release) Title (in italics). Edition or Version (if applicable). Platform. [Game] Place of publication/distribution: Publisher/Distribution company.


EXAMPLE


Ubisoft. (2010) Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood. Standard edition. Xbox. [Game] Montreal: Ubisoft.


INSTRUCTIONS


Use Reference Type: Online Multimedia
- Enter Creator/Developer in Created by field
- Enter Edition/Version in the Label field
- Enter the Platform in the Format/Length field
- Enter Game in Type of Work field
- Enter Place of publication/distribution in Database Provider
- Enter Publisher/Distribution company in Name of Database


COMPUTER/VIDEO GAME – ONLINE/DOWNLOAD VERSION


Creator/Developer. (Year of release) Title (in italics). Edition or Version (if applicable). Platform. [Game] [Access date] URL


EXAMPLE


Blue Byte Mainz. (2015) Anno 2205. Standard edition. PC. [Game] [Accessed on 1st August 2016]
http://store.ubi.com/uk/anno-2205/56c4947888a7e300458b4570.html#start=29


INSTRUCTIONS


Use Reference Type: Online Multimedia
- Enter Creator/Developer in Created by field
- Enter Edition/Version in the Label field
- Enter the Platform in the Format/Length field
- Enter Game in Type of Work field
- Enter date accessed in Date Accessed field
- Enter URL in URL field


CONFERENCE PAPERS PUBLISHED – ONLINE COPY


Reference elements


Author’s surname/s, Initial/s. (Year of publication) ‘Title of conference paper.’ In (in italics)Name of organisation. Title of conference (including number of annual conference if given) (in italics). Volume number if applicable. Location of conference (venue, city), date of conference. Editor’s (or Chair’s) Surname/s, Initial/s. (ed/s.) (if given) Place of publication: Publisher, first and last page numbers of paper. [Online] [Access date] URL


EXAMPLE


Brookes, A. and Clark, C. (2001) ‘Narrative dimensions of transformative learning.’ In Adult Education Research Conference. Proceedings of the 42nd Annual Adult Education Research Conference. Michigan State University, East Lansang, MI, 1st – 3rd June 2001, pp. 1-7. [Online] [Accessed on 3rd April 2018] http://newprairiepress.org/aerc/2001/papers/12/


INSTRUCTIONS


Use Reference Type: Conference Paper
- Enter Title of conference paper in Title field
- Enter Name of organisation in Label field
- Enter Title of conference in Conference Name field (this should include the name and title of conference e.g. the italicised section in the above example)
- Enter Location of conference in Conference Location field (venue, City)
- Enter date of conference in Date field
- Enter Editor/s or Chair/s name in Editor field
- Enter Place of publication in Place Published field
- Enter Publisher in Publisher field. If no publisher details are available, enter the date of the conference in the publisher field
- Enter Online in Type field
- Enter date accessed in Date Accessed field
- Enter URL in URL field


CONFERENCE PAPERS PUBLISHED – PRINT COPY


Author’s surname/s, Initial/s. (Year of publication) ‘Title of conference paper.’ In (in italics) Name of organisation. Title of conference (including number of annual conference if given) (in italics). Volume number if applicable. Location of conference (venue, City), date of conference. Editor’s (or Chair’s) Surname/s, Initial/s. (ed/s.) (if given) Place of publication: Publisher, first and last page numbers of paper.


EXAMPLE


Kuznetsov, A. and Kuznetsova, O. (2001) ‘The progress of market culture in Russia and managerial response.’ In Academy of International Business. Proceedings of the 28th annual conference of the Academy of International Business (UK chapter) International business in the 21st century: change and continuity - strategies, institutions, regulations and operations. Vol. 1. Manchester Metropolitan University Business School, Manchester, 6th–7th April 2001. McDonald, F. and Tuselman, H. (eds.) Manchester: Manchester Metropolitan University Business School, pp. 471-488.


INSTRUCTIONS


Use Reference Type: Conference Paper
- Enter Title of conference paper in Title field
- Enter Name of organisation in Label field
- Enter Title of conference in Conference Name field (this should include the name and title of conference e.g. the italicised section in the above example)
- Enter Location of conference in Conference Location field (venue, City)
- Enter date of conference in Date field
- Enter Editor/s or Chair/s name in Editor field
- Enter Place of publication in Place Published field
- Enter Publisher in Publisher field
- Enter first and last page numbers in Pages field


CONFERENCE PAPERS UNPUBLISHED


Author’s surname/s, Initial/s. (Year of conference) ‘Title of paper.’ Paper presented at: Title of conference (in italics). Location of conference (venue, city), date of conference.


EXAMPLE 


Meagher, K. (2007) ‘The importance of public affairs in the business training sector.’ Paper presented at: The Regional Public Affairs Conference: giving the North a voice in Westminster: adding value through public affairs. Manchester Metropolitan University Business School, Manchester, 20th March.


INSTRUCTIONS


Use Reference Type: Unpublished Work
- Enter Title of paper in Title of Work field
- Enter Title of conference in Series Title field
- For Location of conference: enter Venue in Author Address field & enter City in Place Published field
- Enter date of conference in Date field


CONFERENCE PROCEEDINGS


Name of organisation. (Year of publication) Title of conference (including number of annual conference if given) (in italics). Volume number if applicable. Location of conference (venue, city), date of conference. Editor’s (or Chair’s) Surname/s, Initial/s. (ed/s.)(if given) Place of publication: Publisher.


EXAMPLE


Academy of International Business. (2001) Proceedings of the 28th annual conference of the Academy of International Business (UK chapter) International business in the 21st century: change and continuity - strategies, institutions, regulations and operations. Vol. 1. Manchester Metropolitan University Business School, Manchester, 6th-7th April 2001. McDonald, F. and Tuselman, H. (eds.) Manchester: Manchester
Metropolitan University Business School.


INSTRUCTIONS


Use Reference Type: Conference Proceedings
- Enter Name of organisation in Author field (with a comma at the end of the name of the organisation)
- Enter Title of conference in Title field (this should include the name and title of conference e.g. the italicised section in the above example)
- Enter location of conference in Conference Location field (venue, City)
- Enter Date of conference in Date field
- Enter Editor/s or Chair/s name in Editor field
- Enter Place of publication in Place Published field
- Enter Publisher in Publisher field


DISCUSSION PAPERS – ONLINE COPY


Author’s surname/s, initial/s. (Year of publication) Title of paper (in italics). Organisation and/or number of paper. Place of publication: Publisher. [Online] [Date accessed] URL


EXAMPLES


Duncan, B. and Trejo, S. J. (2011) Low-skilled immigrants and the U.S labor market. IZA Discussion Paper no. 5964. Bonn: Institute for the Study of Labor. [Online] [Accessed on 27th April 2016] http://ftp.iza.org/dp5964.pdf


INSTRUCTIONS


Use reference type: Webpage
- Enter author (or organisation name) in Author field
- Enter title of paper in Title field
- Enter organisation and/or number of paper in Series Title field
- Enter date accessed in Access Date field


DISCUSSION PAPERS – PRINT COPY


Author’s surname/s, initial/s. (Year of publication) Title of paper (in italics). Organisation and/or number of paper. Place of publication: Publisher.


EXAMPLE


Duncan, B. and Trejo, S. J. (2011) Low-skilled immigrants and the U.S labor market. IZA Discussion Paper no. 5964. Bonn: Institute for the Study of Labor.


INSTRUCTIONS


Use reference type: Book
- Enter author/s (or organisation name/s) in Author field
- Enter organisation and/or number of paper in Series Title field


DISSERTATIONS/THESES – ONLINE COPY


Author’s surname/s, Initial/s. (Year of submission) Title of dissertation/thesis (in italics). Degree statement (e.g. PhD). Name of the awarding institution/University. [Online] [Access date] URL


EXAMPLE


Rachmat, H. (2015) Towards a subject-specific knee model to optimize ACL reconstruction. Ph.D. University of Groningen. [Online] [Accessed on 31st July 2019] https://www.rug.nl/research/portal/files/16426994/Complete_dissertation.pdf


INSTRUCTIONS


Use Reference Type: Thesis
- Enter Degree statement in Degree field
- Enter awarding institution in University field
- Enter online in Label field


DISSERTATIONS/THESES– PRINT COPY


Author’s surname/s, Initial/s. (Year of submission) Title of dissertation/thesis (in italics). Degree statement (e.g. PhD). Name of the awarding institution/University.


EXAMPLE


Gillen, J. K. (1998) An investigation into young children’s telephone discourse. Ph.D. Manchester Metropolitan University.


INSTRUCTIONS


Use Reference Type: Thesis
- Enter Degree statement in Degree field
- Enter awarding institution in University field


EBOOK READERS


Author’s surname/s, Initial/s. (Year of publication) Title of book (in italics). Edition if applicable., [name of ebook reader] Place of publication: Publisher.


EXAMPLE


Burrows, A., Parsons, A., Price, G. and Pilling, G. (2009) Chemistry³: introducing inorganic, organic and physical chemistry. [Kindle Fire] Oxford: Oxford University Press.


INSTRUCTIONS


Use Reference Type: Book
- Enter name of eBook reader in Type of Work field.


EU DOCUMENTS/LEGISLATION


Legislation type. Legislation number and title. Publication details, including journal title volume (in italics) and date and page numbers.


EXAMPLE


Council Regulation (EC) No 1907/2006 of 18 December 2006 concerning the Registration, Evaluation, Authorisation and Restriction of Chemicals (REACH) establishing a European Chemicals Agency. Official Journal L 396, 30/12/2006 pp. 1 – 849.


INSTRUCTIONS


Use Reference Type: Legal Rule or Regulation
- Enter legislation type in Author field
- Enter legislation number and title in Title field
- Enter journal title and volume in Publisher field
- Enter date in Section Number field
- Enter page number range in Pages field
- Enter legislation number and year in the Year field (for the citation elements)


NB: The citation for this source requires the legislation type, number and year, e.g. (Council Regulation, 1907/2006). However, Endnote will format the citation inserting the legislation type only. Therefore, it would require a manual edit to insert the number and year, i.e. after unformatting the document.


FILMS/DVDS/VIDEOS


For a film broadcast on television (incl. those accessed online) see section on TV and radio broadcasts.
NB: The citation for this source requires the title of the film and year e.g. (The Wind that Shakes the Barley, 2006). However Endnote will format the citation in italics by default. Therefore, it would require a manual edit to remove the italics, i.e. after unformatting the document.


FILMS (WHEN WATCHED AT A SCREENING E.G. CINEMA)


Title of the Film (in italics). (Year of production) Directed by Director’s initial/s. surname/s. [Film] Place of production: Production Company.


EXAMPLE


The Wind that Shakes the Barley. (2006) Directed by K. Loach. [Film] UK: UK Film Council.


INSTRUCTIONS


Use Reference Type: Film or Broadcast
- Enter Title of film in Title field
- Enter Year of production in Year Released field
- Enter Director’s name in Label field as you want it to appear e.g. J. Rees (without the words Directed by).
- Enter the word Film in Format field
- Enter Place of production in Place Published field
- Enter Production Company in Distributor field


DVDS/VIDEOS


Title of the DVD/video (in italics). (Year of production) Director’s initial/s. surname. Material type, either [DVD] or [Video] Place of distribution: Distribution company.


EXAMPLE


The Matrix Reloaded. (2003) Directed by A. and L. Wachowski. [DVD] Los Angeles: Warner Brothers Inc.


INSTRUCTIONS


Use Reference Type: Film or Broadcast
- Enter Title of DVD/Video in Title field
- Enter Year of production in Year Released field
- Enter Director’s name in Label field as you want it to appear e.g. J. Rees (without the words Directed by).
- Enter Material type in Format field
- Enter Place of distribution in Place Published field
- Enter Distribution Company in Distributor field


FILMS ACCESSED ONLINE


(For films that have been broadcast and accessed online e.g. through ITV iPlayer, see section on Television and Radio broadcasts).
Title of the Film (in italics). (Year of production) Director’s initial/s. surname/s. [Online] Available through (name of online provider). [Date accessed]


EXAMPLE


Slumdog Millionaire. (2008) Directed by D. Boyle. and L. Tandan. [Online] Available through Netflix. [Accessed on 3rd October 2013]


INSTRUCTION


Use Reference Type: Film or Broadcast
- Enter Title of Film in Alternate Title field
- Enter Year of Production in Year Released field
- Enter name of Director in Label field as you want it to appear i.e. D. Boyle…
- Enter Online in Format field
- Enter Available through and the name of the supplier in the Distributor field


FOREIGN LANGUAGE SOURCES


Author’s surname/s, initial/s. (Year of publication) Title of item. (in italics) (English translation of title.) Place of publication: Publisher.


EXAMPLE


Sand, G. (1932) Histoire de ma vie. (History of my life.) Paris: Calmann-Levy.

 

INSTRUCTIONS


Use Reference Type: Book
- Enter English translation of title in Translated Title field (enter a full stop at the end).


GENERAL REPORTS


Author’s surname/s, Initial/s. or Name of organisation. (Year of publication) Title of report (in italics). Place of publication: Publisher. (Report code and number if provided)


EXAMPLES


Lowden, K., Hall, S., Elliot, D. and Lewin, J. (2011) Employers’ perceptions of the employability skills of new graduates. London: Edge Foundation.
ECOTEC. (2003) Guidance on mapping social enterprise: final report to the DTI Social Enterprise Unit. London: ECOTEC Research and Consulting Ltd. (C2453)


INSTRUCTIONS


Use Reference Type: Report
- Enter author or name of organisation in the Author field (when using the name of the organisation as the author, enter a comma at the end of the organisation name e.g. ECOTEC,
- Enter Place of publication in Place Published field 
- Enter Publisher in the Institution field
- Enter Report number (if provided) in Report Number field


GOVERNMENT COMMAND PAPERS


Government department/organisation for which the publication was produced. (Year of publication) Title (in italics). The word or an abbreviation of the word ‘Command’. Official reference number if there is one, place of publication: Publisher. (Name of chairperson if there is one and the word Report)


EXAMPLE


Department of Education and Skills. (1985) Education for all: report of the committee of inquiry into the education of children from ethnic minority groups. Cmnd. 9453, London: HMSO. (Swann Report)


INSTRUCTIONS


Use Reference Type: Government document
- Enter Government department in Department field (with a comma at the end e.g. Department of Education and Skills,)
- Enter the Official reference number in the Report Number field (with the word or abbreviation of the word: Command)
- Enter Place of publication in Place Published field
- Enter Publisher in Institution field
- Enter the Name of chairperson (if provided) in the Author field


GUEST PRESENTATION


Surname, Initial. (Year of presentation) Title of lecture. Name of institution that the presentation has taken place, City of presentation, Date of presentation.


EXAMPLE


Hodgkinson, P. (2007) Careership revisited. Presentation at Manchester Metropolitan University, Manchester, 10th October.


INSTRUCTIONS


Use Reference Type: Unpublished work
- Enter Title of lecture in Label field
- Enter Name of institution in Institution field
- Enter City of presentation in Place Published field
- Enter Date of presentation in Date field


JOURNAL ARTICLE – PRINT COPY


Surname/s, Initial/s. (Year of publication) ‘Title of journal article.’ Title of journal, volume number(Issue number) first and last page numbers of whole journal article.


EXAMPLE
 

Jeffrey, M. (2004) ‘Zero income survival times for ten fashion retailers.’ Journal of Fashion Marketing and Management, 8(1) pp. 58-65.


INSTRUCTIONS


Use Reference Type: Journal article
- Enter Author of article in Author field
- Enter year article was published in Year field
- Enter article title in Title field
- Enter Title of journal in Journal field
- Enter volume in Volume field
- Enter issue or number in Issue field
- Enter page number range in Pages field
If a journal does not have a volume and/or issue number and the Month or Season of the publication is provided (as in the two examples below), enter the Month or Season in the Date field.


JOURNAL ARTICLE (WITHOUT ISSUE NUMBER)


Surname/s, Initial/s. (Year of publication) ‘Title of journal article.’ Title of journal, Volume number, Month or Season, first and last page numbers of whole journal article.


EXAMPLE


Kitwood, T. (1988) 'The technical, the personal, and the framing of dementia.' Social Behaviour, 3, June, pp. 83- 91.


INSTRUCTIONS


- Enter month or season in Date field


JOURNAL ARTICLE (WITHOUT VOLUME NUMBER)


Surname, Initial. (Year of publication) ‘Title of journal article.’ Title of journal, (issue number), Month or Season, first and last page numbers of whole journal article.


EXAMPLE


Income Data Services (2008) 'Establishing an employer brand.' IDS HR Studies, (872), June, pp. 2-8.


INSTRUCTIONS


- Enter month or season in Epub Date field


JOURNAL ARTICLE – ONLINE ONLY


Some journal titles are only published online and are not available in print format. As such, often they do not have the same details as print journal articles, for example no issue number. If this is the case and other details are provided, such as an article number, include this instead as in the first example below.

Author’s surname/s, Initial/s. (Year of publication) ‘Title of journal article.’ Title of journal (in italics) , Volume
number(Issue number) or Volume number:article number, first and last page numbers of whole journal article (if applicable). [Online] [Access date] DOI: or URL


EXAMPLES


McCulloch, P. F., Warren, E. A. and DiNovo, K. M. (2016) ‘Repetitive diving in trained rats still increases Fos production in brainstem neurons after bilateral sectioning of the anterior ethmoidal nerve.’ Frontiers in Physiology, 7:148, pp. 1-12. [Online] [Accessed on 26th April 2016] DOI: 10.3389/fphys.2016.00148
McMahon, C. R. (1997) ‘Hysterical academies: Lacan's theory of the four discourses.’ Internet Journal of Language, Culture and Society, 2, pp. 1-19. [Online] [Accessed on 12th January 2016] http://www.anialian.com/Hysterical_Academies.htm


INSTRUCTIONS


Use Reference Type: Electronic Article
- Enter Journal Title in Periodical Title field
- Enter both the volume and issue number in the Volume field as it should be formatted, e.g.: 7:148


JOURNAL ARTICLE – FIRST ONLINE


Author’s surname/s, Initial/s. (Year of publication) ‘Title of journal article.’ Title of journal (in italics). [Online] ‘First online’ (or publisher’s terminology) online publication date. [Access date] DOI: number


EXAMPLE


Watkins, L., Kuhn, M., Ledbetter-Cho, K., Gevarter, C. and O’Reilly, M. (2015) ‘Evidence-based social communication interventions for children with autism spectrum disorder.’ The Indian Journal of Pediatrics. [Online] ‘First online’ published 19th November 2015. [Accessed on 16th May 2016] DOI: 10.1007/s12098-015-1938-5


INSTRUCTIONS


Use Reference Type: Electronic Article
- Enter journal title in Website Title field
- Enter ‘First online’ (or publisher’s terminology) online publication date, e.g.: ‘First online’ published 19th November 2015 in Label field
- Enter DOI in URL field


JOURNAL SPECIAL ISSUE


Editor’s surname/s, initial/s. (Year of publication) ‘Title of issue.’ [Special issue] Title of Journal (in italics), volume number(issue number).


EXAMPLE


Gimson, A. (ed.) (2012) ‘Nurturing creativity & innovation.’ [Special issue] Development and Learning in Organizations: an International Journal, 26(6).


INSTRUCTIONS


Use Reference Type: Edited Book
- Enter Title of issue in Alternate Title field
- Enter Special Issue in Type of Work field
- Enter Title of Journal in Series Title field
- Enter volume number and issue number (including brackets) in Number of Volumes field


LEAFLETS/POSTERS


Surname, Initial. or organisation’s name. (Year of publication) Title or description. [Type of source e.g. leaflet, poster, plaque] Place of publication if ascertainable or location the medium was viewed: Publisher if available or date the information was viewed.


EXAMPLES


Counselling Service. (no date) Need to talk? [Leaflet] Manchester: Manchester Metropolitan University.
The National Student Survey. (no date) Be Heard. [Poster] Reception area, Gaskell campus: 29th January 2009.
The Lady Lever Art Gallery. (2014) Girl with grapes - Sir Joshua Reynolds (1723-92). [Plaque] Historic Gallery area, The Lady Lever Art Gallery: Date viewed 20th February 2014.


INSTRUCTIONS


Use Reference Type: Pamphlet
- Enter no date in Year field if no Year of publication is provided
- Enter Type of source in Type of Work field
- Enter Place of publication OR location the medium was viewed in Place Published field
- Enter Publisher in Publisher field
- Enter Date viewed in Publisher field including wording Date viewed


LECTURE NOTES


Surname, Initial. (Year of production) Title of the lecture notes. Place of publication: Publisher. Number of pages in handout, distribution date, the lecture number, module name.


EXAMPLE


Robinson, J. (2004) No title. Wolverhampton: University of Wolverhampton. 3-page handout, distributed on 13th March 2005 in lecture 3 for module ‘Teaching gymnastics’.


INSTRUCTIONS


Use Reference type: Serial
- If no title is provided – enter No title in Title field
- Enter Place of publication in Place Published field
- Enter Publisher (i.e. the University) in Publisher field
- Enter Number of pages in handout in Pages field
- Enter Distribution date in Date field
- Enter lecture number in Volume field
- Enter Module name in Series Volume field


MARKET REPORTS/COMPANY AND INDUSTRY PROFILES/COUNTRY REPORTS – ONLINE COPY


Name of research company or organisation. (Year of publication) Title of report. Date of report (month and year – if available). [Online] [Date accessed] URL


EXAMPLE


Mintel. (2009) Coffee shops: UK. February 2009. [Online] [Accessed on 14th April 2009] http://academic.mintel.com


INSTRUCTIONS


Use Reference type: Webpage
- Enter Name of research company or organisation in Author field (with a comma at the end e.g Mintel,)
- Enter full access date (including year) in Access Date field – do not use ‘Access year’ field


MARKET REPORTS/COMPANY AND INDUSTRY PROFILES/COUNTRY REPORTS – PRINT COPY


Name of research company or organisation. (Year of publication) Title of report. Date of report (month and year- if available). Edition if available. Place of publication: Publisher. Report number if applicable.


EXAMPLE


Mintel. (2009) Coffee shops: UK. February 2009. London: Mintel Group.


INSTRUCTIONS


Use Reference type: Report
- Enter Name of research company or organisation in Author field (with a comma at the end e.g British Geological Survey,)
- Enter Date of report in Date field
- Enter Publisher in Institution field


NEWSPAPER ARTICLE – ONLINE EDITION


Author’s surname/s, Initial/s. (Year of publication) ‘Title of article.’ Name of newspaper (in italics). [Online] Date of publication. [Date accessed] URL


EXAMPLE


Arthur, C. (2012) ‘YouTube loses music clip copyright battle in court.’ The Guardian. [Online] 24th April. [Accessed on 24th April 2012] http://www.guardian.co.uk/technology/2012/apr/20/youtube-music-clipcopyright-court


INSTRUCTIONS


Use Reference Type: Electronic Article
- Enter title of article in Title field
- Enter title of newspaper in Periodical Title field
- Enter date of publication in Issue field
Enter date accessed date in Date Accessed field


NEWSPAPER ARTICLE – PRINT EDITION


Author’s surname/s, Initial/s. (Year of publication) ‘Title of article.’ Name of newspaper (in italics). Name of supplement if applicable. Date of publication. Edition if applicable, Page number of article.


EXAMPLE


Moore, S. (2007) ‘Careers are calling.’ Manchester Evening News. MEN job search supplement. 18th January. City edition, p. 3.


INSTRUCTIONS


Use Reference Type: Newspaper Article
- Enter Author of article in Reporter field
- Enter Article title in Title field
- Enter Title of Newspaper in Newspaper field
- Enter Name of supplement in Section field
- Enter Date of publication in Issue Date field
- Enter Edition in Edition field


ONLINE IMAGES/PHOTOS


Surname, Initial. (Year of publication) Title of image or description of the image. Name of organisation. [Online image] [Date accessed] URL


EXAMPLES


Mutti, M. (2009) Orion's belt. Astronomy picture of the day. [Online image] [Accessed on 16th February 2009] http://antwrp.gsfc.nasa.gov/apod/ap090210.html


Oxford Illustrated Science Encyclopaedia. (no date) Volcano. [Online image] [Accessed on 16th February
2009] http://www.oup.co.uk/oxed/children/oise/pictures/earth/volcano


INSTRUCTIONS


Use Reference type: Online multimedia
- Enter Surname, initial., in Created By field
- If using the name of an organisation instead of an individual’s name (as in the 2nd example above) use the Created By field.
- Enter Name of Organisation in Label field (if using the organisation name as the author, as in the 2nd example above, no need to enter it again in the Label field)
- Enter full access date (including year) in Date Accessed field
- Enter Online image in Type of Work field


ONLINE PDF DOCUMENT


Surname, Initial. or organisation’s name. (Year of publication) Title. Edition if applicable. Place of publication if available: Publisher if ascertainable. [Online] [Date accessed] URL


EXAMPLE


Department for Business Innovation and Skills. (2009) Solutions for business: funded by government. London: Department for Business Innovation and Skills. [Online] [Accessed on 19th August 2009] http://www.berr.gov.uk/files/file51789.pdf


INSTRUCTIONS


Use Reference Type: Webpage
- Enter author name or organisation/department in Author field (with a comma at the end e.g. Department for Business Innovation and Skills,)
- Enter full access date (including year) in Access Date field – do not use ‘Access year’ field.
- No need to enter [Online] – Endnote does this for you!


CHAPTER IN AN ONLINE PDF DOCUMENT


Chapter author/s surname, initial/s. (Year of publication) 'Title of the chapter.' In Surname of the editor/s, Initial/s. (ed/s.) or name of organisation. Title (in italics). Place of publication (if ascertainable): Publisher, first and last page numbers of the chapter. [Online] [Date accessed] URL


EXAMPLE


Lubian, K., Weich, S., Stansfeld, S., Bebbington, P., Brugha, T., Spiers, N., McManus, S. and Cooper, C. (2016) ‘Mental health treatment and service use.’ In McManus. S., Bebbington, P., Jenkins, R. and Brugha, T. (eds.) Mental health and wellbeing in England: adult psychiatric morbidity survey 2014. Leeds: NHS Digital, pp. 69- 105. [Online] [Accessed on 28th November 2017] https://digital.nhs.uk/media/32987/APMS-2014-FullReport/pdf/Mental_health_and_wellbeing_in_England_full_report


INSTRUCTIONS


Use Reference type: Book section
- Enter chapter title in Title field
- Enter Document title in Book title field
- Enter online in Label field
If there is no editor mentioned on the document and you need to use a main author’s name, or name of organisation in place of the editor, use the Series Editor field


ONLINE VIDEOS


Owner/creator. (date) Title. (in italics) [Online] [Access date] URL


EXAMPLE


MMU Degree Skills. (2010) How to avoid plagiarism. [Online video] [Accessed on 10th June 2010] http://www.youtube.com/user/MMUDegreeSkills


INSTRUCTIONS


Use Reference type: Online multimedia
- Enter Owner/creator in Created by field
- If no title is provided – enter ‘No title’ in Title field
- Enter Online video in Type of Work field
- Enter full access date (including year) in Date Accessed field


PLAYS


Author’s surname/s, Initial/s. (Year of the edition) Title of play (in italics). Editor’s surname/s, initial/s. (ed/s.) Edition if applicable., Place of publication: Publisher.


EXAMPLE


Shakespeare, W. (1995) Twelfth Night. Warren, R. and Wells, T. (eds.) Oxford: Oxford University Press.


INSTRUCTIONS


Use Reference type: Book
NB: As the citation for this source requires a variation to the usual format, Endnote is unable to correctly format the citation. Therefore it would require a manual edit, i.e. after unformatting the document. Endnote would format the citation as (Shakespeare, 1995). Please see the MMU Harvard referencing guide for full instruction on how to format the citation for ‘old plays’ such as Shakespeare.


SONGS


SONG FROM A SINGLE (A OR B SIDE)


Artist’s surname/s, Initial/s. (Year of release) ‘Title of song.’ Title of single (in italics). [format, medium] Location of record label: Record label.


EXAMPLE


Lennon, J. (1971) ‘Working class hero.’ Imagine. [single, vinyl record] UK: Apple.


INSTRUCTIONS


Use Reference type: Audiovisual material
- Enter Artist’s name in Author field
- Enter Year of release in Year field
- Enter Title of song in Title field
- Enter Title of single in Series Title field
- Enter format and medium in Format field
- Location of record label in Place Published field
- Enter record label in Publisher field


SONG FROM AN ALBUM


Artist’s surname/s, Initial/s. (Year of release) ‘Title of song.’ Title of album (in italics). [format, medium] Location of record label: Record label.


EXAMPLE


Lennon, J. (1971) ‘Imagine.’ Imagine. [album, vinyl record] UK: Apple.


INSTRUCTIONS


Use Reference type: Audiovisual Material
- Enter Artist’s name in Author field
- Enter Year of release in Year field
- Enter Title of song in Title field
- Enter Title of album in Series Title field
- Enter format and medium in Format field
- Location of record label in Place Published field
- Enter record label in Publisher field


AN ALBUM


Artist’s surname/s, Initial/s. (Year of release) Title of album (in italics). [format, medium] Location of record label: Record label.


EXAMPLE


Lennon, J. (1971) Imagine. [album, CD] UK: Apple.


INSTRUCTIONS


Use Reference type: Audiovisual material
- Enter Artist’s name in Author field
- Enter Year of release in Year field
- Enter Title of album in Title field
- Enter format and medium in Format field
- Location of record label in Place Published field
- Enter record label in Publisher field


STANDARDS – ONLINE COPY


Name of authorising organisation. (Year of Publication) Identifying letters and numbers and full title of Standard (in italics). Place of publication: Publisher. [Online] [Date accessed] URL


EXAMPLE


British Standards Institution. (2008) BS 9999:2008 Code of practice for fire safety in the design, management and use of buildings. London: BSI. [Online] [Accessed on August 11th 2015] https://bsolbsigroupcom.ezproxy.mmu.ac.uk/


INSTRUCTIONS


Use reference type: Webpage
- Enter full access date (including year) in Access Date field – do not use ‘Access year’ field.


STANDARDS – PRINT COPY


Name of authorising organisation. (Year of Publication) Identifying letters and numbers and full title of Standard (in italics). Place of publication: Publisher.


EXAMPLE 


British Standards Institution. (2008) BS 9999:2008 Code of practice for fire safety in the design, management and use of buildings. Milton Keynes: BSI.


INSTRUCTION


Use Reference Type: Book
- Enter name of Name of authorising organisation in Author field
- Enter year of publication in Year field


STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS


Short title of the SI and Year. (SI number) Place of publication: Publisher.


EXAMPLE


The Food Information Regulations 2014. (SI 1855) Norwich: TSO.


INSTRUCTIONS


Use Reference Type: Statute
- Enter the SI number Code Number field including the abbreviation SI
- Enter Place of publication in the Country field
- Enter the Publisher in the Source field


TELEVISION AND RADIO BROADCASTS


‘Title of episode.’ (if applicable) Title of series/programme. (Year) Medium, either [Television] or [Radio] Television or radio channel, time and date of broadcast.


EXAMPLE


Slumdog millionaire. (2008) Directed by D. Boyle and L. Tandan. [Television] Channel 4, 21:25 24th December 2010.
‘Hillsborough – how they buried the truth.’ Panorama. (2013) [Television] BBC1, 21.00 20th May 2013.


INSTRUCTIONS


Use Reference type: Film or Broadcast
- Enter Title of episode (if applicable) in Edition field
- Enter Title of programme in Title field
- Enter Director (if applicable i.e. for films broadcast on TV) in Label field
- Enter Television or Radio in Format field
- Enter TV or radio channel in Medium field
- Enter time and date in Date Released field
NB: The citation for this source requires the title of the film and year e.g. (Slumdog millionaire, 2008). However, Endnote will format the citation in italics by default. Therefore, it would require a manual edit to remove the italics, i.e. after unformatting the document.


TRANSLATED BOOK


Author’s surname/s, Initial/s. (Year of publication of original work) Title of book (in italics). Translated by Initial/s. Surname of translator, year of translated publication. Place of publication: Publisher.


EXAMPLE


Siohan, R. (1959) Stravinsky. Translated by E. W. White, 1965. London: Calder and Boyars Ltd.

 

INSTRUCTIONS


Use Reference Type: Book
- Enter Translated by and translator’s surname, initials, and year of translated publication in Series Title field.

 

WEBPAGE – AUTHOR NAME PRESENT


Surname, Initial. (Year of publication) Title of page. Name of organisation. [Online] [Date accessed] URL


EXAMPLE


Kerr, N. (2005) Happy slapping. Kidscape. [Online] [Accessed on 10th November 2006] http://www.kidscape.org.uk/press/pressdetail.asp?PressID=7


INSTRUCTIONS


Use Reference Type: Webpage
- Enter Title of page in Title field
- Enter Name of organisation in Series Title field
- Enter full access date (including year) in Access Date field – do not use ‘Access year’ field.


WEBPAGE – NO AUTHOR


Name of organisation. (Year of publication) Title of page (in italics). [Online] [Date accessed] URL


EXAMPLE


Barnardos. (2013) Poorest parents need extra help with childcare costs. [Online] [Accessed on 13th November 2013] http://www.barnardos.org.uk/news/Poorest_parents_need_extra_help_with_childcare_costs_/

latestnews.htm?ref=93409


INSTRUCTIONS


Use Reference Type: Webpage
- Enter Name of organisation in Author field (remember to enter a comma at the end of the organisation name).
- Enter full access date (including year) in Access Date field – do not use ‘Access year’ field.
 

WORKING PAPERS – ONLINE COPY


Author’s surname/s, initial/s. (Year of publication) Title of paper (in italics). Organisation and/or number of paper. Place of publication: Publisher. [Online] [Date accessed] URL


EXAMPLE


Gilpin, N., Henty, S., Lemos, M., Portes, J. and Bullen, C. (2006) The impact of free movement of workers from Central and Eastern Europe on the UK labour market. Department for Work and Pensions Working Paper no. 29. Norwich: HMSO. [Online] [Accessed on 27th April 2016] URL


INSTRUCTIONS


Use reference type: Webpage
- Enter author (or organisation name) in Author field
- Enter title of paper in Title field
- Enter organisation and/or number of paper in Series Title field
- Enter date accessed in Access Date field


WORKING PAPERS – PRINT COPY


Author’s surname/s, initial/s. (Year of publication) Title of paper (in italics). Organisation and/or number of paper. Place of publication: Publisher.


EXAMPLE


Voronkova, S. and Lucey, B. M. (2005) Russian equity market linkages before and after the 1988 crisis: evidence from time-varying and stochastic cointegration tests. Manchester Metropolitan University Business School Working paper 05/05. Manchester: Manchester Metropolitan University Business School.


INSTRUCTIONS


Use reference type: Book
- Enter author name/s or name of organisaton and/or number of paper in Series Title field.

Endnote Online Handout

Endnote Online Instructions

This guide will take you through the various aspects of using Endnote Online. A series of short videos are also available about this software.

This guide includes the following sections:

Setting up an Endnote Online Account    
Registering for an account    
The Reference Library    

  • Manually adding references    
  • Tips for entering authors    

Organising your Library    

  • Editing references    
  • Deleting references    
  • Reordering the library    
  • Removing duplicate references    
  • Adding attachments to references    
  • Grouping your references    
  • Sharing your groups    

Getting References from Databases    
Direct Export using Library Search    
Capturing Bibliographic Information from a Website   
Using Endnote and Word   

  • Installing the toolbar    
  • Linking the document to your Endnote library    
  • Inserting a citation    
  • Changing the referencing style in Word    
  • Deleting citations in Word    
  • Excluding parts of citation    
  • Including page numbers in a reference    
  • Editing citations/bibliography    

Standalone bibliographies    
Submitting documents electronically    


Setting up an Endnote Online Account

Endnote online is a web based software package that allows you to manage bibliographic references and create bibliographies easily and automatically.
Endnote is available at http://www.myendnoteweb.com

 

Registering for an account

To get access to the enhanced Endnote account, which includes features such as the MMU Harvard referencing style you first need to register via Web of Science.
⦁    Go to Web of Science (from Library homepage http://www.library.mmu.ac.uk, choose Search Tools, Databases A-Z, W, then Web of Science.
⦁    Click Sign In 
⦁    Choose Register
⦁    Then retype your email address and click Continue.
⦁    A verification code will be sent to your email address.  Login into your email and type in the code you have been sent
⦁    Enter your details and choose a password. Your password must be eight characters long, include an uppercase letter, a lower case letter as well as a number and a symbol e.g. ! Click to Confirm.  A confirmation message will appear.
⦁    Now click on Endnote (top of screen), which will take you directly to your new Endnote account.

Once you have created an account you can access it directly by going to http://www.myendnoteweb.com 

 

The Reference Library

The file that holds your references is called a library.  It can include lots of different reference types i.e. books, journal articles, conference proceedings, etc.  


Manually adding references

To add a new reference select the Collect tab and click on New Reference then choose the type of reference you require from the drop down menu.

The fields will change to reflect the reference type, simply click in each relevant field and type the details of the reference.

Tips for entering authors
When entering the names of authors or editors always use the following order, Last Name, First Name i.e. Smith, John.  If the reference includes multiple authors/editors, each must be entered on a separate line.

If the reference includes the name of the organisation you will need to insert a comma after the name so that it will appear correctly in your reference list i.e. Manchester Metropolitan University, 

When you have entered all the fields you want to use click on Save to add the reference to your library.

Organising your Library

Editing references

Each reference can be edited, if you need to add or subtract information.  From the list of references, simply click on the title and click on the field that you need to edit. Once you have made the changes, click Save to update the record.

Deleting references

To delete any unnecessary records, click the tick box next to reference and click Delete.  The reference will be moved to Trash.  Records can be retrieved from Trash, so long as it hasn’t been emptied.  To delete the reference/s from Trash select Empty.

Reordering the library

The library can be organised in a number of different ways.  The default is to order by the name of the first author.  However, by clicking on Sort by and selecting from the drop down menu on the right hand side of the screen you can change the order using the options given.  This can be useful if you want to find items recently added to your library.

Removing duplicate references

If you are downloading many records from different sources, you may find that you end up with duplicate references in your library.  Endnote has a handy tool to find these for you.  Click on Organize and choose Find Duplicates.  The duplicates are highlighted and can be reviewed and then deleted, by clicking on Delete.

Adding attachments to references

Endnote allows you to attach files such as PDF files to individual records.  To attach, first click on the Paper clip icon for the individual record, click Attach files, now click on Browse and locate the file.  Once you have found the file click Upload.
Once an attachment has been added, the paper clip will change colour to blue.
To remove an attachment, simply click on the paper clip, then hover over the name of the file and click the blue cross to remove.
If you wanted to see the total number of attachments in your library, choose Organize and click Manage Attachments.  All the attachments will be listed as well as how much space has been used.


Grouping your references

Records are automatically added to All My References Folder – but you can also sort them into individual folders (up to 5000 personal folders).  To create a new group, select the Organize tab, click on Manage My Groups and then click New Group and give the group a relevant name i.e. Research Methods, Chapter 1, etc.  Return to My References and tick the records you want to add to your group and then select the group from Add to Group drop down menu. References can be added to multiple groups as required.

Sharing your groups

Endnote also allows you to share your groups of references with other researchers who are using Endnote.  You can choose to give your colleagues read only or editing rights.  Click on the Organize tab, Manage My Groups, Manage Sharing and then click on Start Sharing this group.  A new screen will appear, simply enter the email address for your colleague and choose the level of access allowed.  They will now be able to see your references in their Endnote library.


Getting References from Databases

As well as using Endnote to connect to different catalogues, it is possible to search many of the library’s resources and then add records into your own Endnote library.  On the library website you can find an A-Z listing http://libguides.mmu.ac.uk/az.php of our resources, click on the question mark next to an individual resource to access the help guide and click the Endnote tab to see specific instructions. The majority use a system called Direct Export.

 

Direct Export using Library Search

To use direct export, you need to leave your EndNote library running and open a new tab in your browser.  Access Library Search from the library website (www.mmu.ac.uk/library) and run your search.  You can select multiple records to transfer into EndNote Online. 

To do this click on the Save icon located on the right hand side of each record.

Once selected, the icon changes colour and items will be added to the My Items folder located above the result list.

NB The selected records will disappear when you close the session, unless you have signed in to Library Search and chosen to save them to a folder.

When you are ready to transfer your results to EndNote, click on the My items above the result list.

A new screen will appear, listing the records to be transferred.  To transfer click on

A new box will appear.  Choose Export to EndNote.

Depending on your browser, you may first need to click Save then either double click on the downloaded file or select open file near the bottom of your browser or select open with, then click OK. 

Next, a box called Choose Destination will appear, highlight EndNote Online, and click OK.

You may be asked to enter the details of your EndNote Online account, simply type these in and click OK.  A final message will appear confirming your records have been added to EndNote. Click OK.

NB If Direct Export is not working, it is still possible to transfer information into EndNote, please use the instructions for importing references into EndNote Online.

 

Capturing Bibliographic Information from a Website

You can also save bibliographic information from web pages into Endnote.  This is called Capture.
NB This function does not work in Internet Explorer.  You need to use Firefox/Google Chrome to use this function.

To do this you need to install the tool on your browser.  In Endnote, choose Downloads   You need to drag the grey Capture Reference icon onto the bookmarks toolbar.  (NB If the bookmark toolbar is not already on screen, right click next to help and choose Bookmarks toolbar).  

Open a new tab and go to the site you would like to add to your Endnote library.  Click on the Capture Reference button.  A new screen will appear.  You may need to enter the details of your Endnote Online account the first time you use the tool.  First check that the reference is correct i.e. reference type is set to web page, any other details such as author are added as well as the access date.  
When you are happy with the reference details click, Save to myendnote.com.  A confirmation window will appear, and the reference will be added to your library.  Click Close and you can return to the web page you were using.

Using Endnote and Word

Installing the toolbar

Endnote also allows you to work in Word and create in text citations which will automatically be added to a bibliography at the end of your document.  This is called Cite While You Write.  First you will need to install the Endnote toolbar into Word.  Click on Downloads, choose the option for your computer and follow the on screen instructions. (NB On campus the Endnote toolbar is already available in Word on the student PCs, on staff PCs you will need to ask IT to install Endnote). Once installed you will see an Endnote toolbar in Word.

Linking the document to your Endnote library

To Cite While You Write you will need to link the document to your Endnote library.  Click on Preferences, then Application and enter the email address and the password for your Endnote online account, then click OK.

Inserting a citation

Once connected to Endnote, you can start writing your text.  When you need to insert a citation, simply place the cursor, where you want the citation to appear.  Next click on Insert Citations on the Endnote toolbar.  Then search for the relevant citation, click to highlight and select Insert.

The citation will appear in the text and a bibliography will be created at the end of your document.  You can continue to add citations and create your bibliography as required.

Changing the referencing style in Word

To choose how your citations and bibliography appear, you simply need to choose the relevant output style next to style on Cite While You Write menu.  Only a limited number of styles are listed on the drop down menu, if you click on Select Another Style, you can choose from the full list available.  A new box will open, scroll down to the style you require, highlight and click OK.  Your citations and bibliography will be reformatted in that specific style i.e. Harvard MMU or MMU Harvard.

Deleting citations in Word

If you want to delete or change a citation you will need to click on Edit Citations on the Endnote toolbar. 
To delete a citation click Edit Citation on the Endnote toolbar, highlight the citation you want to delete, click Edit Reference and then choose Remove Citation.

Excluding parts of citation

In some cases you may need to use an author’s name as part of the text, you can still insert your citation and then use Endnote to exclude the author’s surname.  Select Edit Citation on the Endnote toolbar, highlight the citation you want to edit and then click in the box next to Exclude Author.  Only the year will now appear in the text and the reference will remain in your bibliography.  You can now use the name of the author as part of the text.

Including page numbers in a reference

If you need to include a page number as part of your reference, click on Edit Citations on the Endnote toolbar.  Click to highlight the reference you want to edit and then type the page number in the field marked Suffix i.e. :15. 

Editing citations/bibliography

If something is appearing incorrectly in a reference in Word, it is probably due to an error in the data in your Endnote library.  To amend this in Word, click Edit Citation, choose the Reference and click on Edit Reference.  This will take you back to Endnote, where you can locate the reference and amend the data.  Once you have made any corrections, return to Word, choose Edit Citation, click on the drop down menu next to Edit Reference and click Update from My Library.  The reference screen will appear, click Insert and the updated reference will now appear in your document.

Standalone bibliographies

Occasionally you might want to create a standalone bibliography from your library, without citing the references in a piece of work.  In Endnote, choose the Format tab, click on Bibliography.  You can choose All References in My Library or a particular group.  Next select the correct output style, and then select RTF(rich text file).  Click to Save the document, choose your location and your references can now be accessed as a list in Word. 


Submitting documents electronically

If you are intending to submit a document electronically, you might find it necessary to remove the links between your Endnote Library and your Word document.  On the Endnote toolbar in Word, simply select Convert Citations and Bibliography, choose to Convert to Plain Text.  

A message will appear telling you that a new version of your document will be created, click OK.  This will create a new version of your document, which can be saved as normal.  This document is no longer linked to Endnote and can then be submitted electronically.  If you need to subsequently edit the document, you will need to return to your original, make the necessary changes and repeat the process above. 
 

Importing references into Endnote Online

Importing References into Endnote Online

Sometimes it is not possible to export references into Endnote.  A few web browsers such as Safari do not currently support direct export. However, information from online resources such as Library Search can be transferred into Endnote Online.

From Library Search/Database, etc.

  • Export the records, then select Save. 
  • Ensure that you save them to a place where you can easily retrieve it later and the file name ends .ris.

Return to EndNote Online
•    Login to your EndNote Online account
•    Select the Collect tab and click on Import References.

 Endnote Online with My References and Import References highlighted.

 

 

•    Next to File, click on Choose File and locate the references, which you have saved.
•    Use the drop-down menu in the Import Option field to find and select the RefMan RIS import filter. 
•    Either choose to add the references to a particular group or to the Unfiled area in your library.  Then click Import.
Import References screen, an export-endnote.ris is shown next to file, RefMan RIS is shown next to import option and a group has been selected next to option for To.

•    A message in red will appear confirming your results have been added to your library and can now be used for referencing.

Confirmation message that references have been imported into Endnote.

EndNote Online Workshop

We deliver Endnote Online training as an online workshop using Adobe Connect. You can look at our workshop page to check when our next session is running.

You can also watch a recording of our latest Endnote Online workshop. We have also included a recording for Mac users.

You will need to download Adobe Connect in order to watch this recording. Download the handout below for instructions on how to do this. You will need to watch the recorded version of the workshop on a laptop/desktop computer using Flash. Mobile iOS devices, such as iPads, are not currently supported.

Adobe connect instructions

Adobe Connect Information for Webinars


Task 1


1. Go to http://mmu.adobeconnect.com/testroom/
2. Login as a guest. Simply type your first name into the Name box and click on the “Enter Room”
button.
3. Follow the instructions that you will find on the main screen to run the audio set-up wizard. This
will allow you to check that you can hear audio from other participants and that they can hear your
own audio.
4. If you encounter any problems, please contact us for help within 24 hours of the course start date.


Task 2


Run the Adobe Connect Diagnostic Test by clicking on the following link:
https://na1cps.adobeconnect.com/common/help/en/support/meeting_test.htm

 

  • The test should take less than 1 minute to run
  • If everything is OK, you should receive 4 ticks on the screen
  • If there are any issues with your set up, you will be prompted/instructed to take appropriate action to rectify the problem
  • You should then run the test again
  • If you continue to have problems, please email us for help

Please do not hesitate to get in touch if you are having any problems. It is important that we sort out any issues as soon as possible so that you can participate fully using Adobe Connect: Library@mmu.ac.uk
Subject line: Webinar access issues

Want to know more about Endnote Desktop?

Videos

Endnote Desktop is now available to be used off campus. Staff and Students can download a copy from IT's Software Download Centre.  Here you will find the software and relevant product key.

Please note the MMU Harvard referencing style is not included with the initial download but can be accessed below.

You need to download this file. The file needs to be saved to the output style folder within the Desktop Endnote software.

Alternatively, this method can also be used to add the style to Endnote: download the file, click the file and it should open in Endnote. In Endnote click File and Save as. Remove the word copy and click Save. You can now close this screen and the style will have been added to Desktop Endnote.

 

Endnote Desktop Handout

Endnote Desktop Instructions

This guide will take you through the various aspects of using Endnote Desktop.

Contents

Downloading Endnote Desktop    
Creating a Library    
The Reference Library    

  • Manually adding references    
  • Tips for entering authors    
  • Preview your references    
  • Editing references    
  • Adding attachments to references    
  • Deleting references    
  • Removing duplicate references    
  • Reordering the library    
  • Rating Your References    
  • Grouping your references    
  • Searching your Endnote Library    
  • Syncing with Endnote Online    

Getting References from Databases    
Direct Export using Library Search    
Using Endnote and Word    

  • Endnote toolbar    
  • Inserting a citation    
  • Setting the referencing style    
  • Deleting citations    
  • Excluding parts of citation    
  • Including page numbers in a reference    
  • Editing citations/bibliography    
  • Submitting documents electronically    

Downloading Endnote Desktop

Endnote Desktop is now available to use off campus.  You will first need to download the software to your PC or Mac. Staff and students can donwload a copy from IT's   Software Download Centre - https://www.mmu.ac.uk/isds/support/apps/. here you will find the software and the relevant product key.

The MMU Harvard referencing style is not included with the initial download of the software, but can be supplied by the library, simply email library@mmu.ac.uk to obtain this style.  Once you have the style file, it needs to be saved in the styles folder within the Endnote software.  Locate the Program files on your hard drive and add the file to the folder called styles.

Creating a Library

To start using Endnote Desktop you first need to create a file called a Library to store your references.  It can include lots of different reference types i.e. books, journal articles, conference proceedings, etc.

Open the Endnote software.  Then choose File and New.

A default file called My Endnote Library will be created.  You can change the name of your library if you prefer.  Then click Save.

Endnote libraries are made up of two parts .enl file and a Data folder.  Ensure both parts are kept in the same location, as both are needed for Endnote to function correctly. 

Please note your Endnote library needs to be saved to a location such as a hard drive.  Endnote libraries should never be stored in cloud syncing folders such as Drop Box, One Drive, iCloud, etc as syncing folder corrupts over time. 
The Reference Library

The file that holds your references is called a library.  It can include lots of different reference types i.e. books, journal articles, conference proceedings, etc.

References are displayed in a list within the central panel and can be previewed on the right hand side of the screen.

 

Manually adding references

To manually add a new reference, select References and then choose New Reference.
A new window will appear.  First select the type of reference you require from the drop-down menu.  Reference types are listed alphabetically, scroll up or down to locate the one you need.

The fields will change to reflect the reference type, simply click in each relevant field and enter the details of the reference.
Tips for entering authors
When entering the names of authors or editors always use the following order, Last Name, First Name i.e. Peters, David.  If the reference includes multiple authors/editors, each must be entered on a separate line
If the reference includes the name of the organisation as the author you will need to insert a comma after the name so that it will appear correctly in your reference list i.e. Manchester Metropolitan University, 
When you have entered all the relevant details, click on the red cross on the reference window.  This will add the reference to your library.
 

Preview your references

To see how your reference might appear in your chosen referencing style, it can be previewed in Endnote.  Simply click to highlight the reference you want to check.  On the right hand side of the screen choose Preview.  You also need to select your referencing style by choosing the name i.e. MMU Harvard from the drop-down menu located above the list of references.


Editing references

Each reference can be edited, if you need to add or subtract information.  Within Endnote Desktop you can do this in two different ways.  
From the list of references in the central panel, double click on the reference you want to edit.  The reference window will open, and you can amend information as you require.  Click on the red cross on the reference window to close the reference and your changes will be saved.
Alternatively, you can edit reference information from the main screen. Click to highlight the reference you want to edit and select reference on the right hand side of the screen.  
 
You can now amend any information within the reference.  If you want to change the display you can also remove any fields, you are not using.  To do this, select options and remove the tick next to show empty fields.
 

Adding attachments to references

Endnote Desktop allows you to attach files such as PDFs to individual records.

Click to highlight the reference you want to attach a file to.  On the right hand side of the screen click the paper clip icon.

Locate the file and click open and the PDF will appear in the window.

An added feature of Endnote Desktop allows you to either highlight text within the PDF or add sticky notes to relevant pages of the PDF.  These tools can be accessed when viewing the PDF document.
Once a record has an attachment a paperclip symbol will appear next to the reference in the main reference display.

 

Deleting references

To delete any unnecessary records, click to highlight the record/s you want to remove and then drag and drop into the Trash folder.  Records can be retrieved from the Trash, so long as it hasn’t been emptied.  To delete references from the Trash, click on the Trash icon and right click and select Empty or you can choose References from the top menu and then scroll down to the option to Empty the Trash.

 

Removing duplicate references

If you are downloading many records from different sources, you may find that you end up with duplicate references in your library.  Endnote has a handy tool to locate these for you.

Click on References then scroll down and select Find Duplicates


A new Find Duplicates window will be shown.  Each duplicate will appear in turn and you can then select which reference you want to keep by clicking on the Keep this Record button.  The other example will automatically be removed from the library and added to the trash folder.  If you want to keep both examples, choose Skip and you will move onto the next duplicate example.


Reordering the library

Your Endnote library can be organised in a number of different ways.  The default is to order by the name of the first author.  However, by clicking on one of the fields above the references, Endnote will re-sort records by Year, Title, etc.
 
To customise the display further choose Edit and then Preferences.  Then choose Display Fonts and you can select any elements you want to add or remove.  Then click OK and any change will now be displayed on screen.  To return to the default display, go back to this screen and select Endnote Defaults and click OK and this will restore the original settings.
 


Rating Your References

If it is helpful you can give your references a rating based on their usefulness.  Place your cursor over the rating field and you can select an appropriate number of stars per reference.
 

Grouping your references

Records are automatically added to an All References group – but you can also create your own folders to organise your references further.

To create a new group, select Groups and then Create Group. 

The new group will appear under My Groups.  You will need to give the group a name i.e. Research Methods, Chapter 1, etc.  

To add references to a group you can click to highlight reference/s and then drag and drop to the relevant group or highlight a reference/s and right click and then select Add Reference To and select the relevant group.

 
Endnote Desktop also includes a feature called Smart Groups.  These are dynamic groups of references which update automatically using selected criteria.  
To create a Smart Group, select Groups and then Smart Groups.  A search box will appear.  You can choose a name for your new Smart Group. 
 
You can now set certain criteria for your group such as particular keywords, authors, ratings, reference types, etc.  When you have set your criteria click Create.  Your group will now appear in the left hand menu.  Every time references are added which fit your criteria they will automatically be sorted into your smart group. 
Please note that references can appear in multiple groups.

 

Searching your Endnote Library

If you want to locate a specific reference in your Endnote library, then use the built-in search box.  Simply type relevant search terms into the box and click Search.  Click All My References to return to the full display. 
 

Syncing with Endnote Online

If you have an Endnote Online account references can easily be transferred from Endnote Online into Endnote Desktop or sent from Endnote Desktop into Endnote Online.  To use the sync function, you need to select sync icon within Endnote and follow the on screen instructions to link accounts.  This function is also available by selecting Tools and then Sync.
 

Getting References from Databases

It is possible to search many of the library’s resources and then add records into Endnote.  On the library website you can find a full A-Z listing (http://libguides.mmu.ac.uk/az.php) of our resources, click the Endnote symbol to see specific instructions. The majority use a system called Direct Export.

Direct Export using Library Search

To use direct export, you need to leave your EndNote library running and open a browser.  Access Library Search from the library website (http://www.mmu.ac.uk/library) and run your search.  You can select multiple records to transfer into EndNote.

To do this click on the Save icon located on the right hand side of each record.

Once selected, the icon changes colour and items will be added to the My Items folder located above the result list.

NB The selected records will disappear when you close the session, unless you have signed in to Library Search and chosen to save them to a folder.

When you are ready to transfer your results to EndNote, click on the My items above the result list.

A new screen will appear, listing the records to be transferred.  To transfer click on

A new box will appear.  Choose Export to EndNote.

Depending on your browser, you may first need to click Save then either double click on the downloaded file or select open file near the bottom of your browser or select open with, then click OK. 

Next, a box called Choose Destination box will appear, highlight EndNote, and click OK. 

EndNote will open and only your imported references will appear in the window.  Click All References to see your full library.

  

Using Endnote and Word

Endnote toolbar

When you install Endnote Desktop onto your PC or Mac then the Cite While You Write toolbar is automatically added to Word, which allows you to add citations to your document.
 
To ensure that it is working with Desktop, make sure that Endnote X9 is listed on the top of the tab.  If it is not click on Preferences, then Application and select Desktop, then click OK.


Inserting a citation

Once connected to Endnote, you can start writing your text.  When you need to insert a citation, simply place the cursor, where you want the citation to appear.  Next click on Insert Citation on the Endnote toolbar.

A search box will appear, and you can type in a word/name from your reference and click Find to locate the source you require.  When you have found the right reference click to highlight and then choose Insert.

The citation will appear in the text and a bibliography will be created at the end of your document.  You can continue to add citations and create your bibliography as required.


Setting the referencing style 

To choose how your citations and bibliography appear, you simply need to pick the relevant referencing style.

Please note that the MMU Harvard referencing style is not included with the initial download of Endnote Desktop, but can be supplied by the library, simply email library@mmu.ac.uk.  Instructions for adding this to the software are available on page 2 of this guide.
Next to Style on the Endnote toolbar select the drop-down menu.  Only a limited number of styles are listed, if you choose Select Another Style, you can access the full list.
A new box will open, scroll down to the style you require, highlight and click OK.  Your citations and bibliography will be reformatted in that specific style i.e. MMU Harvard or Harvard MMU.


Deleting citations

If you want to delete or change a citation you need to do this using the commands on the Endnote toolbar.

To delete a citation, place your cursor in the citation you want to remove.  Choose Edit & Manage Citations from the Endnote toolbar.  Then click the drop down arrow next to Edit References and choose Remove citation, then click OK.
This will remove the citation from the text and the matching entry from the bibliography.  
Please note if you have used this source multiple times in your text, you are only removing this citation and it will remain in your bibliography until all examples of the source are removed from the document.

Excluding parts of citation

In some cases, you may want to use an author’s name as part of the text rather than included within the citation bracket.  You need to use Endnote to make this change. 
First place your cursor in the citation you want to edit and then Select Edit & Manage Citation on the Endnote toolbar.  Then select the drop-down arrow next to Default and choose Exclude Author.  Only the year will now appear in the citation.  You can now add the name of the author as part of the text.


Including page numbers in a reference

If you need to include a page number as part of your reference as you are giving an exact quote, you can add this to your citation using Endnote.  First place your cursor in the citation you want to edit and then Select Edit & Manage Citations on the Endnote toolbar.  
Check the correct citation is highlighted and then type the page number in the field marked Suffix i.e. :15. Then click OK.  Please note you need to type the : before adding the page number, so that it is included in the citation i.e. (Wilson, 2013:15)


Editing citations/bibliography

If something is appearing incorrectly in a reference in Word, it is probably due to an error in the data in your Endnote library.

To amend this in Word, first return to Endnote and make any necessary updates.  Then in Word, place the cursor in the citation you want to update, choose Edit & Manage Citations.  Click on the drop down arrow next to Edit Reference and select Update from My Library.  The reference screen will appear, click Insert and then OK and the corrected reference will now appear in your document.
 

Submitting documents electronically

If you are intending to submit a document electronically, you might find it necessary to remove the links between your Endnote Library and your Word document.  On the Endnote toolbar in Word, select Convert Citations and Bibliography, choose Convert to Plain Text.

A message will appear telling you that a new version of your document will be created, click OK.  You can now save this version of the document.  In the new version, all links to Endnote have been removed and this version can be submitted electronically.  If you need to subsequently edit the document, you will need to return to your original, make the necessary changes and repeat the process above. 
 

EndNote and Mac

Direct export from subject databases to EndNote does not work well with the Safari web browser. However, you can still transfer references from databases using an import filter or an alternative browser.

Library Search and EndNoteWeb using Safari as your web browser

The CWYW toolbar isn't appearing on Word 2016 on a Mac

Support from the EndNote software provider 

We have recorded a webinar for Mac users - see the webinars box above to watch this recording.