Skip to main content
Manchester Metropolitan University homepage
Library homepage

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...
Loading...
Loading...

Current status of Library systems and online resources

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
New
Recommended for: Primary sources Newspapers 19th Century U.S. news collection
New
Recommended for: Bibliographic information RecordsAbstracts
Trial
Available until 25/04/2019
This database provides access to the searchable full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images.Give us your feedback
Trial
Available until 11/03/2019Communication & Mass Media Complete (CMMC) is a robust communication studies database. It provides full-text, indexing and abstracts for many top communication journals covering all related disciplines, including media studies, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse.
Give us your feedback
Trial
Available until 25/03/2019
From the award-winning, nongovernmental National Security Archive, this resource consists of expertly curated, and meticulously indexed, declassified government documents covering U.S. policy toward critical world events – including their military, intelligence, diplomatic and human rights dimensions – from 1945 to the present.Give us your feedback
Trial
Available until 11/03/2019
On campus only
Free Movement offers updates, commentary and advice on immigration and asylum law. Our mission is to make good quality and clear information available to all affected by immigration control: migrants themselves, their families, their lawyers and their judges.
Give us your feedback
New
Recommended for: Books Journal articles Images
Trial
Available until 28/02/2019This monumental collection brings together works from Rohn, Dumont, Wiktor, and Martens to create the richest collection of world treaties ever available, covering the time period from 1648 to the present. More than 180,000 treaty records have been identified..Give us your feedback
Trial
Available until 04/03/2019HeinOnline’s World Trials collection contains more than 4,290 titles and 1.7 million pages of not only trial transcripts and other critical court documents, but also trial-related resources such as monographs which analyze and debate the decisions of famous trials.Give us your feedback
New
Recommended for: eBooks Information Science eBook collection
Trial
Available until 04/04/2019
JoVE creates the ultimate solutions for advancing research and science education by making and publishing videos of scientific experiments from the top laboratories around the globe.
Give us your feedback
New
Recommended for: Film and documentaries
World cinema, documentaries and independent film. Playback of films works with Google Chrome, Edge and Mozilla Firefox browsers. Not compatible with IE browser.
Trial
Available until 11/03/2019
LGBT Life is the definitive index for LGBT studies. It provides indexing and abstracts for hundreds of scholarly and popular LGBT publications, plus historically important primary sources, including monographs, magazines and newspapers. 
Give us your feedback
Trial
Available until 29/03/2019
Archival runs of 10 of the most influential, longest-running serial publications covering LGBT interests.
Give us your feedback
New
Recommended for: Magazines
Collection of digital editions of Mslexia magazine, dating back to 2007.
New
Recommended for: Journal articles
French-language scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences
Trial
Available until 10/03/2019 Part of Gale Primary Sources
The Picture Post Historical Archive comprises the complete archive of the Picture Post from its first issue in 1938 to its last in 1957 - all digitized from originals in full colour.
Give us your feedback
Trial
Available until 10/03/2019 Part of Gale Primary Sources
Political Extremism and Radicalism in the Twentieth Century is a compilation of rare and unique archival collections covering a wide range of fringe political movements. It has been sourced from distinguished libraries and archives across the world but also premiers some previously hidden treasure troves.
Give us your feedback
New
Recommended for: eBooks
Two bespoke eBook packages in the subject areas of Sport and Linguistics
Trial
Available until 05/04/2019
SAGE Business Cases is the first discipline-wide digital collection tailored to library needs. These cases bring business to life – inspiring researchers to develop their own best practices and prepare for professional success. Here are some additional useful notes in the form of teaching notes
Give us your feedback
New
Recommended for: Books
Over 4,800 book titles in a variety of disciplines.
Trial
Available until 20/02/2019
To scholars of today, Service newspapers are so rich in social and cultural history, offer a unique perspective on the local and global experience of the war, and will enable the research of key historical events through the medium of contemporary publications.Give us your feedback
Trial
Available until 28/03/2019
Shakespeare's Globe on Screen 2 (2016-2018) includes landmark productions from the theatre’s 2016, 2017 and 2018 seasons.Give us your feedback
New
Recommended for: Journal articles Primary sources Women’s interest magazines from the late 19th Century - 2005
Trial
Available until 10/03/2019 Part of Gale Primary Sources
The Women’s Studies Archive is an examination of the social, political, and professional aspects of women’s lives and offers us a look at the roles, experiences, and achievements of women in society.
Give us your feedback
title
Loading...