Skip to main content
Manchester Metropolitan University homepage
Library homepage

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...
Loading...
Loading...

Current status of Library systems and online resources

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
New
Recommended for: Primary sources Newspapers 19th Century U.S. news collection
New
Recommended for: Bibliographic information RecordsAbstracts
Trial
Available until 25/04/2019
This database provides access to the searchable full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images.Give us your feedback
Trial
Available until 01/04/2019
Spanning three centuries (c1750-1929), this resource makes available for the first time extremely rare pamphlets from Cornell University Library’s Charles W. Wason Collection on East Asia.
Give us your feedback
Trial
Available until 20/03/2019
This digital collection answers a need for English-language primary sources relating to China and the West, 1793-1980. With manuscripts encompassing events from the earliest English embassy to the birth and early years of the People’s Republic, students are given an incredible insight into the changes wrought upon China during this period.
Give us your feedback
Trial
Available until 01/04/2019
This module is a rich repository of source materials on the work of this globally influential organisation, founded in 1799 as an Anglican evangelical movement and still active today.
Give us your feedback
Trial
Available until 24/03/2019
From the end of World War II to the early 1990s, the Cold War was the central driving force in global politics. In addition to nuclear arms races and shifting military alliances, the Cold War years had a critical impact on many of today’s most intriguing research topics, from technology to terrorism, immigration to international politics. 
Give us your feedback
Trial
Available until 25/03/2019
From the award-winning, nongovernmental National Security Archive, this resource consists of expertly curated, and meticulously indexed, declassified government documents covering U.S. policy toward critical world events – including their military, intelligence, diplomatic and human rights dimensions – from 1945 to the present.Give us your feedback
Trial
Available until 31/03/2019
Electronic Immigration Network (EIN) is the UK's largest specialist provider of information on immigration and asylum case law and country information via the internet. We're a registered charity and we've been online since 1998.Give us your feedback
New
Recommended for: Books Journal articles Images
New
Recommended for: eBooks Information Science eBook collection
New
Recommended for: Film and documentaries
World cinema, documentaries and independent film. Playback of films works with Google Chrome, Edge and Mozilla Firefox browsers. Not compatible with IE browser.
Trial
Available until 29/03/2019
Archival runs of 10 of the most influential, longest-running serial publications covering LGBT interests.
Give us your feedback
New
Recommended for: Magazines
Collection of digital editions of Mslexia magazine, dating back to 2007.
New
Recommended for: Journal articles
French-language scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences
New
Recommended for: eBooks
Two bespoke eBook packages in the subject areas of Sport and Linguistics
Trial
Available until 05/04/2019
SAGE Business Cases is the first discipline-wide digital collection tailored to library needs. These cases bring business to life – inspiring researchers to develop their own best practices and prepare for professional success. Here are some additional useful notes in the form of teaching notes
Give us your feedback
New
Recommended for: Books
Over 4,800 book titles in a variety of disciplines.
Trial
Available until 28/03/2019
Shakespeare's Globe on Screen 2 (2016-2018) includes landmark productions from the theatre’s 2016, 2017 and 2018 seasons.Give us your feedback
New
Recommended for: Journal articles Primary sources Women’s interest magazines from the late 19th Century - 2005
title
Loading...