Skip to main content
Manchester Metropolitan University home page
Library home page

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...
Loading...
Loading...

Current status of Library systems and eResources

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Trial
Available until 18/02/2018
Find newspaper articles providing information on events, culture, and daily life in nineteenth-century America. Also includes illustrated papers.
Trial
Available until 09/02/2018
Access historical journals and magazines published in America between 1740 and 1940.
Give us your feedback
New
Recommended for: Books
eBooks on ancient history, archaeology, ancient culture & society and classical studies.
Recommended for: State papers Primary sources Archives
Digitised archive of documents gathered by William Cecil (1520-1598), Lord Burghley and his son Robert Cecil (1563-1612), First Earl of Salisbury.
Trial
Available until 19/02/2018 On campus only
Access journals printed between 1685 and 1835.
Give us your feedback
Trial
Available until 08/02/2018
Find magazines covering the history of the film and entertainment industries.
Give us your feedback
New
Recommended for:Historical records
Online genealogy service. Search over 4 billion records of census, directory and historical record information. You might have problems accessing some content off campus.
Recommended for: Newspaper articles
Online version of the Financial Times newspaper. Create an account with your Manchester Met email address.
Trial
Available until 08/04/2018
Access historical reviews, essays, letters and commentary related to more than 500 authors from the 17th to early 20th century.
Give us your feedback
Trial
Available until 09/02/2018
Access to historical archival documents covering eighteenth to twentieth-century American history.
Trial access to the following modules:
  • Civil Rights and Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century
  • Southern Life, Slavery, and the Civil War
  • Women's Studies
Give us your feedback
Trial
Available until 18/02/2018
Access the full run of the world's first illustrated weekly newspaper, covering 1842-2003.
Give us your feedback
New
Recommended for: Film and documentaries
World cinema, documentaries and independent film.
Trial
Available until 18/02/2018
Archive covering the history of LGBTQ life from the second half of the twentieth century onwards. Contains historical records, government documents, newspapers and personal correspondence.
Trial
Available until 19/02/2018 On campus only
Access historical documents relating to the early book, printing and publishing trades, dating from 1554 to the 21st century.
Give us your feedback
Trial
Available until 07/02/2018 On campus only
Access 8 leading poetry and literature magazines.
Give us your feedback
New
Recommended for: eBooks
Includes 40 internationally respected books as well as Gothic Studies, the official journal of the International Gothic Association. Published by Manchester University Press.
New
Recommended for: Magazines
Collection of digital editions of Mslexia magazine, dating back to 2007.
New
Recommended for: Banking data
Detailed information on 43,000 banks (28,000 US and 15,000 Non-US), including a 6 year history for listed banks and 4 year for unlisted.
Trial
Available until 13/03/2018
Trial access to additional content within Passport, related to the automotive industry.
Give us your feedback
Trial
Available until 15/02/2018
Trial access to 10 social sciences journals.
Give us your feedback
Trial
Available until 19/02/2018 On campus only
Access speeches, reports, surveys and analyses on race relations, produced between 1943-1970
Give us your feedback
Trial
Available until 19/02/2018 On campus only
Access manuscripts, letters, diaries and other historical documents created by William Wordsworth and other well-known Romantic writers.
Give us your feedback
Trial
Available until 28/02/2018 Register for an account using your Manchester Met email address before using the service
Access online training materials on academic and study skills, including Critical thinking, Academic writing, Group work and Personal development.
Give us your feedback
Trial
Available until 07/02/2018 On campus only
Find articles on economics
Give us your feedback
Trial
Available until 19/02/2018 On campus only
Access primary documents relating to domestic life in America between 1850-1950.
Give us your feedback
Trial
Available until 08/04/2018
Access back issues of women's interest consumer magazines dating from the late 19th century until 2005, including Good Housekeeping and Cosmopolitan
Give us your feedback
Trial
Available until 18/02/2018
Find primary sources from the 19th and 20th centuries, covering women's history.
New
Recommended for: Journal articles Textiles intelligence
Articles about the textile industry. News and Insight articles available on and off campus. Journal content available on campus only.
New
Recommended for: Policies and procedures Employment law for HR
Guidance and practical tools covering the wide scope of HR roles. Log in using the Shibboleth link. How to log in to XpertHR.
title
Loading...