Manchester Metropolitan University homepage
Library homepage

Art and film

Watch cinema, performance art, programmes and art related film.

Box of Broadcasts (BoB)

Bob logo and Learning on Screen logo

With BoB you can:

  • Record TV and radio programmes from over 65 free-to-air channels
  • Search an archive of over 2 million broadcasts dating back to the 1990s
  • Stream broadcasts anywhere in the UK, anytime
  • Share resources via Moodle and reading lists
  • Create clips to use in lectures or send to students
  • Save playlists of your favourite broadcasts and series
  • Never miss a programme with a buffer of 30 days

Access content from:

  • BBC One, BBC Two, BBC Four, ITV, Channel 4, Film4 and more
  • 10 foreign language channels: Italian, French and German
  • BBC Shakespeare Archive content dating back to the 1950s

BoB is only available in the UK.

DVD collection

The Library has a large collection of DVDs located on the second floor west wing of the All Saints library (floorplan and building access map). Use the catalogue to locate a specific title. If you prefer to browse, some useful shelf marks are:

American cinema 813.54

British cinema 823.92

French cinema 843

German cinema 833.912

Indian cinema 891.43

Shakespeare 822.33

Spanish cinema 863.7

Online media

North West Film Archive

The North West Film Archive is the professionally recognised public home for the moving image heritage of the North West of England. Part of Library Special Collections at Manchester Metropolitan University, the NWFA cares for over 38,000 items from the pioneer days of film in the mid 1890s to video production of the present day. The work of both the professional and the amateur is collected.

The North West Film Archive is part of The North West Film Archive collection includes:

  • cinema newsreels
  • documentaries
  • advertising and promotional material
  • educational and travel films
  • home movies
  • corporate videos
  • regional television programmes.

A wide range of subject matter is covered and the following themes are strongly represented:

  • work and local industry
  • leisure, holiday-making, sport and entertainment
  • local traditions and community activities
  • transport
  • housing
  • wartime experiences.

At the NWFA’s new home in Manchester Central Library, viewing pods on the ground floor allow visitors instant reference access to a wide selection of films from collections held by the NWFA and the British Film Institute.

Manchester Metropolitan staff and students benefit from priority access services including free reference, viewing and video loans.

More information about the collections

Learn with LinkedIn Learning

Software development:over 600 courses. Design:over 700 courses. Web development:over 700 courses. Business:over1,200 courses. Photography:over 700 courses.