Manchester Metropolitan University home page
Library home page

Library videos

These are short videos created by Library staff to help you use a variety of services, including help using specific online databases.

Library videos

Watching video on a tablet Library staff have created a variety of videos to help you use our services.

These range from the Welcome video we offer to new users, to specific help with searching for information and how to use subject specific online databases to find journal articles.

To view the videos on this page in full screen, click on full screen in the bottom right hand corner.

Welcome to the Manchester Campus Library

Navigating the Library Services website

This video will show you how to navigate the MMU Library website.

This is the library homepage which can be accessed from the URL onscreen.

here you can find the library’s email address and phone number You can also start an instant messenger chat with library staff for any queries that can’t be solved by the following webpages.

If you need to find resources including books, journal articles and newspaper articles, the library search box in the middle of the page enables you to find these via the Library Catalogue.

Simply type a keyword to start searching.

The advanced search link under the box allows you to carry out more complex searches.

And if you click on databases A-Z you can access databases or search engines to find journal articles on a specific topic.

Click on the ejournals link…

…to browse journal publications.

The subject guides link…

…allows you to access a help guide for your subject area.

Your guide will contain links to subject databases which contain relevant journal articles, videos and provide help with finding books.

You can also contact your librarian to ask for advice on how to research your assignments.

If we return to the library homepage we can explore the reading list link.

Or click on “My library account” to reserve and renew books and pay fines. You can ring or email the library for your 4 digit PIN to log in.

The library catalogue allows you to search for books and eBooks and place reservations if a book is on loan. Click on the Help link to access generic guides on EndNote or Referencing for example.

At the top of the page you can also access information by clicking on the menu boxes.

Click on ‘In the library’ to find our opening hours and floor plans, information about photocopying, printing and scanning. You can also check PC availability at both our Manchester and Crewe campuses online.

Click on ‘services for different library users’ …

…to access help and information for disabled users, distance learners, external students and new library users.

By selecting the “Loans” tab, you can find out more about borrowing books and also about our laptop loan service.

The resources tab…

…includes the links that are also accessible from underneath the Library search box such as Subject Guides and Reading lists.

In addition, you can access a Help guide for Library search which provides access to an introductory video and you can access all of our guides via an alphabetical list.

Click on Topic guides…

…and this will show you information about accessing eBooks, boosting your employability, newspapers, statistics sources and more.

From the resources tab you can also access a help guide for Endnote, get instant answers searching our FAQs and get help with logging into our resources. You can also click on Infoskills to book onto workshops to help you with Referencing, Endnote and dissertation preparation.

You can access an Infoskills online tutorial and view our full video collection from this guide by selecting “library videos”.

Click on referencing to access resources designed to make this easier.

The final box at the top of the homepage, ‘About’ provides you with contact details for library staff, allows you to provide feedback about the library service and access the latest library news.

Finally, you can click on the social media icons on the right hand side to stay up to date with the library and access more help videos via our YouTube channel.

 

For more help and information please ask a member of staff in the Library.

Loading

Searching the library catalogue

  • This video will demonstrate how to use the library catalogue to search for a specific print book or e-book.
  • You can access the library catalogue from the library web site. There are also dedicated PCs at the two MMU libraries where you can quickly check the catalogue. You should use the library catalogue to search for a specific book that you either want to find in the library or access electronically. To access the library catalogue click on the catalogue link here
  • Say you were looking for this book, Doing your research project: a guide for first time researchers. Type the title into the search box and click on search.
  • The results will be listed as shown here and be aware that there may be different editions and different formats of the title available. If it says book next to the listing then this refers to the print copy of the book, which you will be able to find in the library or reserve if it is on loan or at another site library. If it says eBook next to the listing this refers to the electronic version of the book which you can read online. Make sure that you select the correct edition. You should always look for the most recent edition. We want the sixth edition published in 2014 so to find out where it is in the library either click on either the title or the check availability button.
  • This screen gives you more information about the book. Click on expand all to see which libraries have the book and to find out the shelf mark which enables you to locate it on the shelf. Alternatively, click on the arrow next to your desired library site. Check that the book is available. If all of the copies were out on loan like these, you could place a reservation by clicking here. There is 1 copy of this book available, You will need to make a note of the shelf mark to find it on the shelf.
  • As mentioned, if the item is available, and you have made a note of the shelf mark and filing suffix, you can use these to locate the item in the library. Shelf marks are displayed on the end of the shelving bays to guide you.
  • If you want to access the electronic version of the book then you will need to find the most up to date eBook edition. To access the eBook, click on the title or check availability.
  • Then click on click here to access the e-resource. Remember that you will need to log in with your MMU ID and password to access the eBook.
  • For more help and information, please ask a member of staff in the library or visit the library web site.
Loading

Accessing eBooks

  • This video will demonstrate how to  access MMU library’s collection of eBooks. eBooks are digital versions of the books you can find on the library shelves. You can read MMU’s eBooks on most devices, including PC’s, tablets, and smart phones. Most eBooks allow simultaneous multi-user access, so the text should always be available for you to read.
  • Whatever your subject area, you can search MMU’s eBook collection using Library Search from the Library website, and you can access the full text from the results page. Before you enter your keywords, click on books/eBooks to narrow down your search. In this example, we will search for eBooks about “critical thinking”.
  • We narrowed our search to books and eBooks but need to ensure our results only include eBooks and not print books. Use the ‘Refine your search’ options on the left-hand side of the results page.  Select full text online and double check that book/eBook is selected. The results page will automatically update.

Looking down the new list of results, we can see that they are all eBooks with full text online.

  • I am interested in the 3rd ebook listed ‘creativity and critical thinking’.To access the eBook immediately, click on the title or, for more information about the eBook click on the play icon next to it. Then, click on read online.

If you haven’t done so previously, you will be asked to log in using your network ID and your password.

  • You will then be taken to your eBook’s page on the provider’s website. In this case the provider is Dawsonera, but this may differ depending on the book, so please be aware that the interface may look slightly different. When you sign in through MMU, you also sign in to your Dawsonera account, which gives you access to some additional features. Click on my account
  • Click on recently viewed  which gives you convenient access to eBooks that you have used before.
  • Dawsonera offers two ways of accessing the text of an eBook. Firstly, you have the option to download the eBook. You can then read it without an internet connection. However, please note that the eBook will disappear after 24 hours, and you will not be able to download it again. Alternatively, you can read the eBook online and this is the option we will choose in this example.
  • You can scroll through all the pages of the eBook using the buttons above the text. You can also use the contents section to the left of the text to click through to any section of the eBook.
  • You have the option to search within the text by clicking the search tab and entering your term into the box.

This will bring back a list of all the pages where your term occurs and you simply click the page number to be taken directly to that page. Your search term will be highlighted.

  • You can add notes to a book by choosing the notes tab and clicking add note. Type in some text and then click save and close
  •  The note will be displayed on the left hand side. Dawsonera saves any notes you make, so they will be there the next time you log in through MMU.
  • You can copy and print from an eBook by clicking the appropriate buttons, but the amount is limited by copyright restrictions. When you click on Print a pop up box will appear which tells you how many pages you will be able to print
  • For more help and information, please ask a member of staff in the Library or visit the Library website.
Loading

Finding a book on the shelf

  • This video will demonstrate how to find books and other print resources on the shelves
  • Search for the book you want using library search. In this example, we are looking for a book about study skills
  • To see if a book is available in the library, click on check availability
  • Click on either All saints or Crewe to see if the book is available in your library
  • Check that a copy of the book is available and then make a note of the shelfmark
  • Take the 1st 3 digits of the shelfmark and consult the floor plans in the library to identify where the book is shelved
  • Then, use the signs at the end of each shelving bay to identify where the book will be
  • Browse the shelves to find books starting with the first 3 numbers, in this case 371
  • Then follow each number after the decimal point in numerical order
  • For example, these shelfmarks are in the correct order
  • If there are multiple books with the same shelfmark, follow the 3 letters at the end of the shelfmark in alphabetical order to find the book you want
  • For more help and information, please ask a member of staff in the library or visit the library website.
Loading

Reserving a library item

  • This video will demonstrate how to reserve a library item if it is on loan to another library user or if it is located at another MMU site library.
  • First of all, you need to find the book that you want on the library catalogue. From the library website, click on the library catalogue link.
  • In this instance, we will look for a book called ‘Study Skills’ by Cottrell then click search
  • Make sure you select the most recent edition   which in this case is the 4th edition. Click on the check availability button to see further details.
  • We have copies of this edition  at both MMU library sites. Click on either All Saints or Crewe for more information. There are no copies of this book available on the shelves, all of them are out on loan. To reserve a copy, click on reserve this item
  • This will take you  to a log in screen where you then need to enter your MMU student number and Library 4 digit PIN  – and click on login.  If you don’t know your Library PIN you simply need to pop into any MMU library and ask for it at the help desk.
  • Once you have entered your ID and PIN you will be given the option to reserve the item for you to collect at either All Saints or Crewe Library.    Once you have selected your preferred collection site, click the reserve button.
  • An on screen message will tell you that your reservation has been placed. You can check on the progress of your reservation at any time by clicking on my account
  • Click on reservations  When you have just placed a reservation the status will be ‘Placed’. When an item’s ready to be collected, it’s status will change to ‘ready to collect’.  Please note that you will also receive an email from the Library to your student email account to let you know when the item’s available & ready for collection from the Library.
  • Please note that: Reserved items are not available immediately for collection. The items you require may be being used by somebody else or they may have to be sent from another site library.  You can reserve up to 5 items at any one time. You cannot reserve one day loan items
  • For more help and information  please ask a member of staff in the library or visit the library website.
Loading

How to use the self issue machines

We're sorry, a transcript for this video is not currently available.

Loading

Renewing a library loan

  • This video will show you how to renew your library loans if you need to borrow them for longer than the initial due date.
  • If you are visiting an MMU Library and you have the item for renewal with you, then you can use the Library’s self-service machines to renew. Simply scan your student ID card, enter your PIN and then scan the item. The system will inform you if the item has been renewed. Make a note of the due date or print a receipt. If the item has not been renewed please either return it or go to the Library Helpdesk.
  • If you are not at an MMU library you will need to log in to your library account. From the homepage of the library website, click on my library account.
  • Log in using your MMU ID number and your 4 digit library PIN.
  • Select the items you wish to renew by clicking the RENEW box to the right of the individual title or clicking the renew all button if appropriate.
  • Once you have clicked renew, you are informed  whether your items have successfully renewed or not.  If successful, make a note of the new due date.
  • If any items have failed to renew, you will need to return them to the library before the due date to avoid any overdue charges.  For example, items that are reserved
  • Try to renew items at least a couple of days before they are due back in case of any problems
  • Items can be renewed remotely up to ten times before they must be seen in the Library
  • An item will not be renewed if somebody else has requested it, if you have large fines or if it has been renewed online ten times.
  • Please also note that If you are renewing items online on the day they are due back, please do this before midnight. After this time they will become overdue and will incur a fine.  One day Loan and Inter-Library loans cannot be renewed online, they must be brought into the library.
  • For more help and information, please ask a member of staff in the library or visit the library website. 
Loading

Returning items at All Saints Library

We're sorry, a transcript for this video is not currently available.

Loading

Finding electronic journal titles

  • This video will demonstrate how to find and use electronic journals, also known as e-journals. Once you are familiar with e-journals you will find that they are an easily accessed source of quality information and up-to-date research.
  • To check if a particular journal is available electronically through MMU, from the homepage of the library website click on the  ejournals A-Z link.
  • You can browse ejournals by titles by clicking on the letters here or type in the full journal title or just a portion of it. If you can only remember some of the title, it’s best to stick to the default setting which is words contained in the title rather than an exact title search. 
  • Say you’re interested in a journal called ‘journal of career development’, simply type this in the search box.  and click search
  • Your results contain details of , and links to, one or more databases where you can access the journal. In this case we can access the journal of career development via SAGE. Pay particular attention to the date range. Click on the name of the database to access the journal
  • You will leave the MMU website and be taken through to the host database, such as Sage here, where you can either browse through the available issues,  or run keyword searches for articles of interest. 
  • For more help and information please ask a member of staff in the Library or visit the Library website 
Loading

Advanced database searching techniques

  • This video is designed to give you tips for searching Manchester Metropolitan University Library's resources more effectively. You should use it in conjunction with individual resource videos.
  • If we take this example question: Plagiarism is becoming more common in higher education. Discuss. Firstly, identify the key search terms within the question: In this example, the key terms are Plagiarism and higher education. Then, the easiest way to start searching is to type one of your key terms, for example, plagiarism, into the resource you’re using.
  • Typing in the exact word will only search for the word Plagiarism, it won’t search for related words such as plagiarist and plagiarising. To broaden your search to include the different word endings and spelling variations you should use truncation. By placing an asterisk after the stem of the word, in this case, after the second I in plagiarism, the resource will look for all of the different word endings and spelling variants simultaneously. Please note that whilst an asterisk is the most commonly used truncation symbol, some resources vary. Check the help feature of the resource you are searching, to identify its truncation symbol.
  • We can also use the wildcard. This is where you put an asterisk in place of a particular letter. In this case, we’re able to find, simultaneously, both English and American spellings of particular words. Please note that both the asterisk (*) and question mark (?) are common truncation symbols but there is no standard among all databases. Always check the help option of the particular database you are using.
  • Going back to the example question, we will also see that we need to look for the phrase “higher education”.
  • By simply typing the words higher education into a resource, many databases will look for the terms separately.  By placing quotation marks around multiple terms, you are employing phrase searching. This will ensure that the words will be found next to each other, making your search more specific. Remember to only use quotation marks around actual phrases.
  • We can also use AND to further narrow down our search, locating only those articles where ALL of our search terms appear. As you can see on the screen, by using the word AND we will only obtain those articles covered by the shaded circle, ie only those articles that include both of our search terms. Many resources, such as Library Search and Google automatically carry out this function, but not all.
  • Use OR to broaden out a search to find items where any of the keywords appear. In this example every article featuring either of our search terms would appear.
  • These techniques can be applied to most of the Library’s resources.  For more help and information, please ask a member of staff in the Library or visit the Library website.
Loading

Getting started with Library Search

  • Use Library Search to discover books, eBooks, articles and more. Just type your keywords and hit search.
  • I'm looking for information on plagiarism in Higher Education.
  • The icon under each result shows what type of item it is.
  • The word online highlighted in orange indicates that the full-text is available online.
  • When you see an item you want to read, you can click preview to view additional details and click on full text online, or the title, to access it.
  • If you see the Find it! screen, click Full text online.
  • This will take you to the full text where you can open this as a PDF.
  • But say I'm looking for articles particularly about attitudes towards plagiarism in Higher education. These top results seem too general, so I can add attitudes to my search terms, just like you would on Google.
  • Much better, but I only want items I can access right now at my computer, so I'll refine my search using the options on the left. I'll select Full text online, and just display journal articles and newspaper articles. I can also exclude content I don't want to see, such as book reviews.
  • Looking good, but I also only want only recent items, so I'll go down to the publication date option. I can use the pre-set options or use the slider to select the dates I am interested in.
  • Perfect. I'll probably want to look at several of these. I have several options here including sending the details to myself via email or exporting them to EndNote.
  • If you want to come back to a useful item later, you can save it to a temporary folder…
  • …and then print or email yourself the details.
  • Bear in mind that Library Search does not store your searches or your results: if you close the browser window, you will have to start again.
  • If you're having trouble finding or accessing what you're looking for, please use the feedback box or our online chat.
  • For more help and information please ask a member of staff in the Library or visit the Library web site.
Loading

Evaluating websites

  • This video will explain how to evaluate websites to obtain useful and relevant information for your work.  In using internet sources, you need to be careful where you get your information.  You cannot reference from an incorrect or unreliable source.
  • Here are some of the important things to look for when attempting to verify a websites authenticity
  • You need to check there is no false or improbable information
  • Can you see when the website was last updated?
  • Can anybody contribute to the website?
  • Who originally authored the article you are viewing?
  • You need to ask why the person published the information
  • And you also need to think about the website address. Is it genuine?
  • This needs to be considered when attempting to establish a websites authenticity
  • The website you can see is the homepage for a new drug Havidol. Is this website authentic? Can you see any problems with the homepage? Press pause if you need more time.  There is highly improbable information on this web page about interspecies communication.  And the last updated date is February 2007.
  • Although the website looks very professional, it is actually a spoof drug.  It is important to remember that a websites authenticity cannot be verified by a professional looking interface.
  • Look at this page from the MMU Library wiki. Can you see any mistakes on the webpage about Manchester Metropolitan University? Pause if you need more time.  The location of the University has been changed as it says it is in South East England And the central campus is now in Edinburgh. Wikis can be edited by anybody and subsequently the information is not always correct.  You should consider carefully before referencing articles from wikipedia or any other wiki as a primary source in your work.
  • You are researching Martin Luther King Jnr and need to find some background information about him.  Would you use this website?  Press pause for more time. There are a number of indications that this website is biased, and on a closer look you would see it is hosted by Stormfront, a white supremacist organisation. 
  • Which of these are trusted domain names?
  • .gov.uk, .ac.uk, .co.uk, .com, .org, .nhs.uk
  • Press pause if you need more time
  • These 3 are trusted domain names (.gov.uk, .ac.uk, .nhs.uk)
  • .gov.uk is for local or central government
  • .ac.uk is for educational institutions
  • And .nhs.uk is for the National Health Service
  • There are strict rules for people wanting to use these domain names.  Only people affiliated with these groups can use them. Many people think that .org.uk is for a charity or not for profit organisation.  Although this is not necessarily, true.  The three highlighted are actually general domain names that can be used by anybody.  How to evaluate websites. You need to remember the 3 W’s when evaluating websites.
  • These are:
  • Who? Who published the information and who can edit or contribute to the source?
  • Why? Why is this information being published?
  • When? When was the website last updated?
  • Keep these questions in mind when evaluating the website. 
  • For more help and information, please ask a member of staff in the Library or visit the Library website 
Loading

Using Find it! and Google Scholar

  • This video will demonstrate how to use Google scholar and Find it. Google scholar is a search engine that allows you to find scholarly literature such as dissertations, articles, abstracts and books.
  • Find It! is a service that gives you the opportunity to see if you can access a certain text via MMU.
  • It is possible to use Find It! within Google Scholar in order to let you know which of your Scholar search results you might be able to access via MMU.   Find it! Links will appear next to certain search results.
  • Please note: The presence of a Find It! link by a search result is not always a guarantee that MMU has access to the full text.
  • If you are using Google Scholar on campus, with an MMU network PC, Find It! has already been activated with Google Scholar
  • Find It at MMU Library links will appear next to search results if MMU provides access to a specific article..
  • You can access google scholar via the URL at the bottom of the screen or, from the google homepage, click on the icon at the top of the page   Click on more    then click on even more from google    and click on the scholar link
  • As mentioned, Find it! Is automatically enabled with Google Scholar on MMU PCs. If you would like to use Find It! with Google Scholar from off-campus, you have to configure it yourself. From the Google Scholar homepage click on  settings
  • Click on library links  
  • Type MMU in the search box, click the search button and then tick MMU in the results list.  You can then click save  and you will be returned to the Google Scholar homepage. Your PC is now enabled to use Find it! With Google Scholar
  • Type in your search terms  and click the search button
  • On the results page, scroll down until you find an article you would like to see as full text:
  • If the article has a Find It at MMU Library link to the side of it , you now have the opportunity to use Find It! to see if the text is available via MMu. Click on the link
  • click on the Go button
  • You will be redirected to the publisher’s website. Click on the PDF link to access the full text of the article
  • For more help and information, please ask a member of staff in the library or visit the library website.
Loading

Google: Advanced Search

Google is by far the most popular search engine on the internet. You are probably familiar with its basic search function. Yet, most of us are unaware of the advanced search function offered by Google. Google’s advanced search allows users to have more control over their searches and in this video; we will look at how it can be used to retrieve better results.

For example, when researching a topic like TECHNOLOGY BASED LEARNING you may have trouble finding relevant information. The first thing to do is enter your keywords into the basic search and click enter.

By just using these key words, Google has found over 110 million results. Not all of these results may be suitable sources of information to use for an assignment. Therefore, I am going to use the advanced search function to see if I can get results that are more relevant. On a Desktop PC or Laptop, the advanced search link is easily accessible via the box in the top right hand corner with a cog on it. By clicking on this, you will find several search settings including the link to the advanced search.

If you are using a mobile or tablet to carry out your search, the way you access the google advanced search menu is slightly different. There is no cog. Instead scroll down to the bottom of the page and you will see the settings button. After clicking on this you will see the advanced search link.

Google advanced search allows you to narrow down and refine your search. In this instance, one tool that works particularly well is the site or domain function. This will limit the search to results from a certain domain. This field is excellent when required to use information from government (.gov.uk) and educational (.ac.uk) sites. In this case, we are going to search using .gov.uk. The final field I am going to use is the “file type”; this limits the search to a particular type of document. By limiting this field to “Adobe Acrobat PDF”, I should only get PDFs in my results, which is the most common format for published documents. Now when I click the advanced search button I will see a big difference in the results found.
 

As you can see, the results have narrowed down from over 110 million to just under 70,000 and my results only contain links straight to PDFs, which are all from the government.uk websites.  You can improve your search further by customising the results to within a certain timeframe. Firstly click on search tools and a drop down menu will appear. Next, select the anytime dropdown and then custom range

As it is usually best to search for up to date research for assignments, I can customise the date range to search for information published within the past five years, to do this I will enter 2011 in the from box and then select Go.

My results now range from information published on the internet from the 1st of January 2011 up to the present date.


For more help and information please ask a member of staff in the library or visit the library website.

Loading

Searching for statistics

This video will inform you how to locate statistical resources via the Library website. From the statistics web page, there are several links to freely available statistical resources. These include . . .

The CIA World Factbook which provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transport, military, and transnational issues for 267 countries.

Eurostat, which is the statistical office of the European Union and provides information on general and regional themes; economy and finance, population and social conditions, industry, trade, agriculture, transport, environment and science across the EU.

The Office for national statistics which provides UK data on all aspects of Agriculture and the Environment, Business and Energy, Children education and skills, crime and justice, economy, government, health and social care, the labour market, people and places, population and travel and transport.

And several other resources are linked to on this page including The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development’s statistics site, UK social trends and regional trends, and the UK data service.

Each of these statistical resources are quite simple to use and generally have the option to search by country, . . . Or by theme Or by keyword . . .

In addition to the resources listed on the Library’s Statistical Information page, you may also be able to locate some statistical content via the Library’s subscribed subject databases….

These are available by clicking on the ‘Databases A-Z’ link from the Library home page.

For more help and information, please ask a member of staff in the library or visit the library website.

Loading