Log in with your University username and password. BoB is not available outside the UK. The first time you log in to BoB and follow a link, you will be asked to set up a BoB account. There are legal restrictions on the use of BoB content; please read the terms and conditions.
Staff and students at subscribing institutions can record programmes from over 65 free-to-air channels, and search an archive of over 2 million broadcasts. Can also create clips from programmes to use in lectures or send to students, save playlists of broadcasts and series, and share resources via Moodle and reading lists.
Learning on Screen - The British Universities Film & Video Council (BUFVC)
Recommended for: Video streaming Video download
Over 100,000 high quality, professional video tutorials.
When signing in, select Sign in with your organization portal. When asked for your organizations's URL, enter mmu.ac.uk then Continue.
To log in:
Select Sign in
Choose Sign in with your organization portal
Then enter your University username and password
The first time you log in to Lynda, Lynda may ask you whether you've had an account before, choose No, I've never had an account and then Lynda will open.
Videos are bite-sized tutorials that cover a single subtopic within a course.
Courses cover topics and include videos on specific subtopics.
Playlists are collections of courses curated by Lynda experts.
You can share links to Lynda.com course, videos and playlists with other Manchester Metropolitan staff or students.
You can curate playlists of Lynda courses or videos to watch later or share with other Manchester Metropolitan staff or students.
You can watch videos on your iPad or tablet by logging in to the Lynda site and watching them online. If you want to download Lynda content to watch offline you'll need to use their mobile app.
Free website, no log in required. Content on the British Pathe site is under copyright and needs to be licensed if used in any commercial or non-commercial setting apart form personal viewing, including use in lessons.
Newsreel archive, containing over 85,000 films of historical and cultural significance. The collection includes footage from around the globe of major events, famous faces, fashion trends, travel, science and culture. The entire archive can be viewed online on this website or through YouTube. Contains collections of footage organised around major themes or events.
Video and audio material available on campus only. No login required. This website recognises that you are linking to it from the Manchester Metropolitan network.
Find video clips from the collections of the British Film Institute (BFI) National Film and Television Archive.
Stills, posters, press books and several hours of recorded interviews with film and television personalities.
The service does not allow downloads. It offers streamed Video clips only.
Log in with your University username and password.
Listings for more than 475 TV and radio channels.
Coverage back to 2001, with selected data back to 1995.
Custom auto-alert emails for forthcoming programmes up to 10 days in advance.
Selected records have extra information, including credits and keywords.
Highlights programmes for which a DVD copy may be requested from BUFVC by Higher and Further Education institutions.
British Universities Film & Television Council (BUFVC)