Log in with your University username and password.
Search abstracts of articles from around 400 scholarly and trade journals, magazines, books, and newspapers.
Covers theatre, dance, film, television, stagecraft, broadcast arts, storytelling, and more.
With some articles dating back to 1864.
Full text availability
134 publications are full text. If full text is not available in Performing Arts Periodicals Database, use the Find it! button to check if we have access to the article via another website.
Video and audio material available on campus only. No login required. This website recognises that you are linking to it from the Manchester Metropolitan network.
Find video clips from the collections of the British Film Institute (BFI) National Film and Television Archive.
Stills, posters, press books and several hours of recorded interviews with film and television personalities.
The service does not allow downloads. It offers streamed Video clips only.
Box of Broadcasts (BoB)
Record TV and radio programmes from over 65 free-to-air channels
Search an archive of over 2 million broadcasts
Stream broadcasts anywhere in the UK, anytime
Share resources via Moodle and reading lists
Create clips to use in lectures or send to students
Save playlists of your favourite broadcasts and series
Log in with your university username and password. BoB is not available outside the UK. The first time you log in to BoB and follow a link, you will be asked to set up a BoB account. There are legal restrictions on the use of BoB content; please read the terms and conditions.
Staff and students at subscribing institutions can record programmes from over 65 free-to-air channels, and search an archive of over 2 million broadcasts. Can also create clips from programmes to use in lectures or send to students, save playlists of broadcasts and series, and share resources via Moodle and reading lists.
Learning on Screen - The British Universities Film & Video Council (BUFVC)