Manchester Metropolitan University home page
Library home page

Library Search

About your results

Library Search can help you discover different types of content, such as print books, online books (eBooks), print journal titles, articles from online journals (eJournals), online newspaper articles and more.

Your Library Search results are a mix of:

  • Links to items you can access online
  • Information about physical items we own e.g. print books, print journal titles and DVDs 
  • Abstracts or citations for articles that we do not own or subscribe to in Library Services, but may be able to obtain for you via Inter-library loan

Your results: print books

The screenshot below is an example of a Library Search result that is a physical or printed book. The icon next to the result, does not have the word online on it, so it is not something available to read online.

Below the result, it tells you the result is a Book and offers a Check Availability link. Use this to:

  • Check if the book is available to borrow 
  • Find out where it is: Crewe or All Saints Library
  • Get the shelf mark you need in order to find the book on the Library shelves
  • If the book is on loan or at another library site, reserve it

screenshot of Library Search print book result

Your results: eBooks

The screenshot below is an example of a search result that is an eBook. The icon next to the result is marked with the word online. Beneath the result, it says eBook.

Select Full Text Online to link to the eBook. The eBook will open in a completely different web site.

screenshot of a Library search result that is an ebook

Many Full Text Online links will ask you to enter your University ID and password and then take you straight to the eBook.

Some links to eBooks take you via a Find it! page. On the Find it! page select Full text online, then enter your University ID and password, to link to the eBook. 

Your results: eJournal articles

The screenshot below is an example of a search result that is an online journal article. The icon next to the result is marked with the word online. Beneath the result, it says Journal Article

Select Full Text Online to link to the online article. Log in with your University ID and password. The article will open in a completely different web site.

screenshot of Library Search online journal article result

Sometimes, you'll be taken via a Find it! page. On the Find it! page select Full text online, enter your University ID and password and open the eJournal or research database.

Tip: Some links to online journal articles open at a page describing the article. On pages like this, look for words like open full text article or view PDF to open the full article.

Your results: citation

Library Search also discovers Citations. These are abstracts or descriptions of an article, book or conference paper. It usually means Library Services does not have access to the full article, eBook or conference paper online.

The screenshot below is an example of a citation. The icon next to the result does not say online. It says Journal article: Citation beneath the result.

screenshot of Library Search journal article citation result

Use Citations to:

  • Discover more. You're finding things not in Library Services' collection.
  • Get a description of an article before requesting it on inter library loan.
  • Find articles in print journals in a Library Services site library.

We can help you find the full article

  • Sometimes citation links take you to a Find it! menu saying full text available and a Go button to connect to the resource.

For ones where we definitely do not have full text available online as part of a Library Services subscription:

  • Enter the title of the journal (not the article) or book into the Library catalogue to see if we have a print copy of the journal or book in which the article or chapter was published.
  • Check our eJournal a-z, sometimes free eJournals are listed that might not always be discovered by Library Search.
  • Try a Google search, just in case it is published online in a free or open access journal.
  • Use our Inter library loan service

Saving results

Each record has an Add to temporary folder icon (screenshot below).

screenshot of add to folder icon

Select the Add to temporary folder icon to add a Library Search result to a temporary folder.

Open the Saved Items folder to email or print a list or export a list of records to EndNote.

Please note: The items in your saved icon folder are temporary. The folder empties when you close Library Search or Library Search times out. There is a limit of 50 items.