Library catalogue to find a specific book.
Enter the title/part of the title into the search box. Add the author surname for a more specific search.
Watch the video below on how to search the Library catalogue for more help.
Books guide for more information.
If you can't find the book that you're looking for on the Library catalogue, you might be able to obtain a copy via
The information on the Library catalogue, informing you about the books that we have in stock, includes a shelfmark (also known as a class number) which shows where an item is kept on the Library shelves. We put a shelfmark sticker on the spine of every book.
To find a book with the shelfmark 370.152/COT:
Check the signs in the Library to find out where the books with shelfmark numbers 300-399 are kept.
Go to the floor/area you need.
Check the signs on the end of each row of shelves, they tell you the range of shelfmarks kept on each row.
All Saints Library Floor Plans
Crewe Library Floor Plan
Journal articles available electronically
Library Search to locate a specific journal article available electronically
article title into the search box If available, the article will appear near the top of the results list
Full text online under the title/details and follow the title or full-text link You will be prompted to log in with your Manchester Metropolitan username and password
If you wish to browse a particular eJournal title, use the
eJournals A-Z search box to see if we have online access to a particular journal title.
Journal articles available in print only
For journal articles available in print journals only, locate the journal issue from the journal shelves on the 2nd floor of All Saints Library (East Wing) / 1st floor of Crewe Library.
You will need to have the
journal title, volume number and issue number to find the specific print journal article.
For those students using All Saints Library, the video on
Finding print journals at All Saints Library may be helpful.
If you can't find the article that you're looking for, or it is not available in full text at Manchester Metropolitan Library, you might be able to obtain a copy via
Journals and magazines guide for more information.
Search one of our Newspaper databases, such as
This short video will show you how.
Newspapers guide for information and resources to locate newspaper articles.
Library Search as a starting point to locate print and electronic sources of information, such as books, eBooks and journal articles.
Watch this short video on getting started using Library Search:
Look at the
Library Search guide for tips on how to use Library Search effectively.
Check your relevant
Subject Guide for information on key subject databases for your subject area.
Database A-Z list if you know the title of the database you want to use.
Videos are available on how to use individual databases and more.
Helpguides for some databases are available.
Logging in to Library Services guide for help with logging in to subject databases, eBooks and electronic resources.
If you need to locate material other than books or journal articles, use
Library Search and refine your search by the selecting the appropriate content from under the Content Type heading on the left hand side.
Alternatively, look at the appropriate guide below:
Help Videos which cover an introduction to a wide range of library services.
Check your relevant
Subject Guide which will direct you to key subject databases and guides for your subject area.
Book on to a
InfoSkills Online Tutorial which details how to plan your search effectively and outlines a systematic approach to locating information for an assignment.
Contact us via email, phone, our Chat service, or visit the Library Help Desk - see Opening hours and Chat availability times on the
To effectively and efficiently locate relevant information for your academic work, it can be useful to first plan how and what you are going to search.
How to get help with this....
Book on to one of our
We recommend the following workshops for help with planning your search effectively:
Going beyond Google
Preparing for your research project/dissertation: searching for articles and research papers effectively
InfoSkills Online Tutorial details how to plan your search effectively and outlines a systematic approach to locating information for an assignment, in the following sections:
Defining your topic and planning your search
Accessing resources that provide reliable information for your academic work
Evaluating the information you find online
Search techniques video to learn about building an effective search.